Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

VZ Key Reprogramming

Discussion in 'VZ Holden Commodore (2004 - 2006)' started by rebecca22, Apr 25, 2009.

  1. rebecca22

    rebecca22 New Member

    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2009
    Members Ride:
    VZ Executive Wagon
    Hello. I purchased a new head and blank key from Holden parts. They said Mr Minit could program it. However other people seem to be able to program a key themselves by leaving it in the ignition or something like that. Any clues?
     
  2. andyman

    andyman The Only 6sp VZ Wagon

    Messages:
    3,783
    Likes Received:
    56
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2005
    Location:
    Orange, NSW
    Members Ride:
    2012 BT50 4x4, 84 Hilux 4x4 & 05 Husky TE450
    no, it will need to be programmed, supposedly this was able to happen on earlier models but i doubt it works on these
     
  3. LUMPY R

    LUMPY R New Member

    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    May 9, 2014
    Location:
    Australia
    Members Ride:
    1972 chevy el camino
    Program vz remote

    I have a VZ Monaro and the remote was not working, Holden $170 and Locksmith $95. Read another forum. I put the key in the ignition and left it on accessories for 10 seconds and then started the car and held the unlock button for another 10 seconds. Turned the car off and it works fine have not had a problem for over a month.
     
  4. commodore665

    commodore665 expat Saffa

    Messages:
    2,657
    Likes Received:
    987
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2011
    Location:
    New Zealand via Cape Town
    Members Ride:
    2005 SV6 & Alfa Romeo 156 V6
    ****?? ^^^ in NZ remote $80 from Holden dealer , reprogrammed , free. That was for a remote on a VZ SV6 .
     
  5. acarmody

    acarmody Donati..Whoa Green

    Messages:
    5,920
    Likes Received:
    42
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2007
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Members Ride:
    VX Berlina
    Mr Minit charge about $100 and they cut a blade and program the head for you.

    So you bought the head yourself or you used a locksmith?
     
  6. gm1961

    gm1961 New Member

    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    May 29, 2005
    Hi All

    I have done this on about the last 4 commodores i have owned since 2000 ( VP , VT , VY , VZ )

    You key / blade can be cut by anyone that is not the problem.
    The remote itself is the issue, when you get a new remote there is a very specific process

    Get old working key and remote
    Go to holden / Mr mint . Locksmith and the must read the existing remote code into a special machine , it extracts the codes or the batch to the BCM
    Then they swap in the new key and remote , and transfer / copy the code of the machine to the new remote
    Go to your car , unlock the car with the old remote ( the new one will not unlock the car yet )
    Start the car with the new key and run for 40-60 seconds
    Switch off and remove key
    Get outside . close the door and test lock the car with the new remote

    Unless i typed it wrong that is pretty much the only way it will work

    Not Mr minit will usually sell you his universal product, it is a 2 part key , a holden base / blade to fit the lock, and a mr minit generic top electronics that will run on the commodore,
    Ok in saying that, these guys run a franchise store, so some shops may have privately purchased cheap surplus OEM GMH remotes and use them

    unfortunately there keys use a battery that will run flat in 2 years, you will have to go to them and change the battery , some times you will need to reprogram the key
    This happened tome in 2008 with the ford teritory when the spare key went missing, on its 3rd battery now , i try and remember to swap the keys at the first of the month for a few days

    regards
    george
     
  7. Super_Low 91

    Super_Low 91 ┌∩┐(◕_◕)┌∩┐

    Messages:
    482
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2008
    Location:
    Aussie
    Members Ride:
    Not a Commodore
    As far as im aware all Mr Minit stores use genuine Holden Keys the same as you get from the dealer. Being that all stores order from the same warehouse they all should be using the genuine heads. Mr Minit guarantee their batteries for 2 years so as a suggestion take it in before then end of the 2 years an say that its playing up they will change the battery no problems as long as you have the guarantee card that they gave you.
     

Share This Page