Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

New Posts Contact us

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

VZ Key Reprogramming

rebecca22

New Member
Joined
Mar 1, 2009
Messages
34
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Members Ride
VZ Executive Wagon
Hello. I purchased a new head and blank key from Holden parts. They said Mr Minit could program it. However other people seem to be able to program a key themselves by leaving it in the ignition or something like that. Any clues?
 

andyman

The Only 6sp VZ Wagon
Joined
Mar 29, 2005
Messages
3,783
Reaction score
64
Points
48
Age
31
Location
Orange, NSW
Members Ride
2012 BT50 4x4, 84 Hilux 4x4 & 05 Husky TE450
no, it will need to be programmed, supposedly this was able to happen on earlier models but i doubt it works on these
 

LUMPY R

New Member
Joined
May 9, 2014
Messages
1
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Location
Australia
Members Ride
1972 chevy el camino
Program vz remote

no, it will need to be programmed, supposedly this was able to happen on earlier models but i doubt it works on these
I have a VZ Monaro and the remote was not working, Holden $170 and Locksmith $95. Read another forum. I put the key in the ignition and left it on accessories for 10 seconds and then started the car and held the unlock button for another 10 seconds. Turned the car off and it works fine have not had a problem for over a month.
 

commodore665

expat Saffa
Joined
Dec 30, 2011
Messages
2,809
Reaction score
2,189
Points
113
Age
51
Location
New Zealand via Cape Town
Members Ride
2005 SV6 & Alfa Romeo 156 V6
****?? ^^^ in NZ remote $80 from Holden dealer , reprogrammed , free. That was for a remote on a VZ SV6 .
 

acarmody

Donati..Whoa Green
Joined
Apr 29, 2007
Messages
5,920
Reaction score
47
Points
48
Location
Brisbane
Members Ride
VX Berlina
Mr Minit charge about $100 and they cut a blade and program the head for you.

I have a VZ Monaro and the remote was not working, Holden $170 and Locksmith $95. Read another forum. I put the key in the ignition and left it on accessories for 10 seconds and then started the car and held the unlock button for another 10 seconds. Turned the car off and it works fine have not had a problem for over a month.
So you bought the head yourself or you used a locksmith?
 

gm1961

Member
Joined
May 29, 2005
Messages
109
Reaction score
2
Points
18
Age
59
Hi All

I have done this on about the last 4 commodores i have owned since 2000 ( VP , VT , VY , VZ )

You key / blade can be cut by anyone that is not the problem.
The remote itself is the issue, when you get a new remote there is a very specific process

Get old working key and remote
Go to holden / Mr mint . Locksmith and the must read the existing remote code into a special machine , it extracts the codes or the batch to the BCM
Then they swap in the new key and remote , and transfer / copy the code of the machine to the new remote
Go to your car , unlock the car with the old remote ( the new one will not unlock the car yet )
Start the car with the new key and run for 40-60 seconds
Switch off and remove key
Get outside . close the door and test lock the car with the new remote

Unless i typed it wrong that is pretty much the only way it will work

Not Mr minit will usually sell you his universal product, it is a 2 part key , a holden base / blade to fit the lock, and a mr minit generic top electronics that will run on the commodore,
Ok in saying that, these guys run a franchise store, so some shops may have privately purchased cheap surplus OEM GMH remotes and use them

unfortunately there keys use a battery that will run flat in 2 years, you will have to go to them and change the battery , some times you will need to reprogram the key
This happened tome in 2008 with the ford teritory when the spare key went missing, on its 3rd battery now , i try and remember to swap the keys at the first of the month for a few days

regards
george
 

Super_Low 91

┌∩┐(◕_◕)┌∩┐
Joined
Sep 9, 2008
Messages
482
Reaction score
7
Points
18
Location
Aussie
Members Ride
Not a Commodore
As far as im aware all Mr Minit stores use genuine Holden Keys the same as you get from the dealer. Being that all stores order from the same warehouse they all should be using the genuine heads. Mr Minit guarantee their batteries for 2 years so as a suggestion take it in before then end of the 2 years an say that its playing up they will change the battery no problems as long as you have the guarantee card that they gave you.
 
Top