Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

vz overheating

clicka

Reaction score
Members Ride
commodore
my vz temp gauge has gone to 100% twice recently but after turning off engine for 30mins goes back to 25%and will stay there .does any one know whats going on.i would have thought it would take alot longer for the car to cool down than that. uses no coolant

aj1987

05 VZ Calais
Reaction score
Members Ride
'05 VZ Calais
I'd be thinking a stuck thermostat... But I'm no mechanic.
I have read this on here before somewhere I think..? Maybe run a search.

calay

Reaction score
Members Ride
VZ Calais
check the coolant level, its normal for the temp to go a fair way up but not to the top... it could also be an airlock - regardless, get it checked out so you don't end up screwing your engine...

Ando227

Serious?
Reaction score
Members Ride
Vy Series II Ute
I had a similar problem while driving around town mostly, heating right up then i'd take her out to cool her down. Turns out, the cap on the radiator had the smallest split in the gasket/ring/rubber, I forget, cost me 11 for a new cap. Problem fixed...

Maybe, take a look.

Sent from my GT-P1000 using Tapatalk

clicka

Reaction score
Members Ride
commodore
I'd be thinking a stuck thermostat... But I'm no mechanic.
I have read this on here before somewhere I think..? Maybe run a search.

i dont think the engine is getting hot maybe its afault with a sensor but thanks

clicka

Reaction score
Members Ride
commodore
the coolant level hasnt dropped at all ..ive had it checked over by mechanic replaced heater tap said all is good but im expecting it to do it again

clicka

Reaction score
Members Ride
commodore