Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

VZ rough idle/hot relays/alt overcharging/indicator stays on

Reaction score
Members Ride
VZ Commodore Executive
Hi all. Can anyone help with my 05 vz statesman issue. Has a rough idle that gets worse when warm plus alternator is overcharging, relays under drivers dash are scorched & LH indicator stays on after locking at times. 2 different mechanics had different takes on it. So I'll throw it out here in case someone else has had & resolved this issue. I am no mechanically inclined so I hope the above is enough info..,
Cheers all

plane driver

Reaction score
Members Ride
VZ Exec Sedan Alloytec
The "sticky" indicator is a well known problem on the VZ. It has been discussed at length in this forum and you can find more about it via the search function. It isn't the indicator relay as such, rather the relay that operates when you lock or unlock the vehicle with the remote. The faulty relay is in the BCM under the dash or more accurately just above the brake and accelerator pedals. It is a bit of a sod to get to and requires some dexterity of the hand and fingers.
There are several sellers on ebay with a fix.
I used this one a few years ago.
https://www.ebay.com.au/itm/Zettler...249086&hash=item1c8bfef0dc:g:C48AAOSwMgdX0h4W
I was going to do the whole job myself but didn't have the time or enough patience to do the relay swap and a work colleague who is a wiz with printed circuit board repairs (he does it for his professional work) offered to do it. Unless you looked closely and even then knew where to look you would not know it had been worked on. I did the removal and installation of the unit from/to the vehicle.

Reaction score
Members Ride
VZ Commodore Executive