Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

VZ SV6 Sump Removal

HQ2VL

Reaction score
Members Ride
VZ SV6
Removing VZ V6 Sump

This job sucks but if you're going to do it you may as well do the timing cover, engine mounts and control arm bushes all at the same time!!!
Also the oil pickup is bolted to the sump and connected to the oil pump via an o-ring so it just comes out with the sump.
Do at you own risk, I'm not a mechanic this is just how I have done it!!!
Also you will need a torque wrench to put Harmonic balancer back on and a new bolt, apparently it is a single use item. 100NM + 150 Degrees

0. Drain oil from vehicle.
1. Raise vehicle on jack stands at the front, take wheels off and put behind jack stands just incase!!!
2. Undo strut top plates, you will need 24mm spanner and what seems to be a 10.5mm socket to hold the inner most part of the strut!
(I used a single hex 11mm socket also helps to remove Z bars from control arms 24mm 30mm and 4x13mm per Z bar)
3. Loosen off steering knuckle just above steering rack this is a 13mm bolt I think (put seat belt through steering wheel to hold it straight)
4. Undo engine mount to K-frame bolts (18mm) one each side.
5. Remove Harmonic Balancer, you will need a 19mm socket, breaker bar and 3 claw pulley puller (about $70-$80 from Repco)
you will also have to STOP engine from turning over while you are undoing this bolt.
6. Remove the 3 bottom bolts on the Timing cover (13mm)

Picture1.jpg

7. Remove the 2x10mm bolts holding the power steering line to the sump and oil sensor plug.
8. Undo and remove dipstick 1x10mm
9. Place jack under bellhousing of gear box and jack up engine off mounts to highest point, note not to lift vehicle off stands
also place piece of wood between jack and bellhousing to spread the load.

Picture2.jpg