Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

VZ V6 misfire under load...

Discussion in 'VZ Holden Commodore (2004 - 2006)' started by dylsrach, May 11, 2011.

  1. dylsrach

    dylsrach New Member

    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Joined:
    May 11, 2011
    Location:
    Murray Bridge
    Members Ride:
    SV6 Crewman
    hey... my '05 vz sv6 has got a serious problem when under load or going up hill. Feels like a misfire. Had it to local mechanic a couple of months back & he reckons he can't find anything wrong with it, a bit useless to say the least! Plugs & leads all good + no error codes at all apparently. Anyone else had a similar problem with an alloytec?
     
  2. Slipper

    Slipper New Member

    Messages:
    148
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Members Ride:
    04 VZ SV6 A5
    are you sure its engine and not transmission?
     
  3. dylsrach

    dylsrach New Member

    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Joined:
    May 11, 2011
    Location:
    Murray Bridge
    Members Ride:
    SV6 Crewman
    I hadn't considered the trans to be honest. What would likely be the issue in the trans? Cheers.
     
  4. Slipper

    Slipper New Member

    Messages:
    148
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Members Ride:
    04 VZ SV6 A5
    is it auto or manual?
     
  5. Burnout124

    Burnout124 Member

    Messages:
    258
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2011
    Location:
    Western Australia
    Members Ride:
    VY Executive S2/ VY SS 6sp
    vz v6 dose not have leads it is a coil on sperk plug engine but i would say it is a coil braking down .
     
  6. dylsrach

    dylsrach New Member

    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Joined:
    May 11, 2011
    Location:
    Murray Bridge
    Members Ride:
    SV6 Crewman
    Its auto. Cant feel anything through the shifter if you hold it while its misfiring so I assume its coming from the engine. Cheers burnout124, thought maybe coil. Do you know how much should I expect to pay to get it replaced?
     
  7. kronich3244

    kronich3244 New Member

    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    May 10, 2011
    Location:
    Sydney
    Members Ride:
    VL Calais Manual, VZ SV6 Manual
    On the vz their is 6 individual coils, it is very common for them to give out, if you buy the genuine ones (BOSCH) it wil most probably happen again its only a matter of time.. recently DENSO has made aftermarket coils to suit.. for BOSCH it is about $350 for all six and for the DENSO ones expect to pay a lil more about $430 for all 6.... how ever you can buy them individually but you will have to pull out the volt meter and a service manual to trace it down to the faulty one or you can just take it to a mechanic / auto electrician and they will be able to find the faulty one for you, also at the same time i recommend you change the spark plugs aswell!!! Hope this information helps!!!
     
  8. mattsv6

    mattsv6 New Member

    Messages:
    185
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2009
    Members Ride:
    VZ SENATOR
    See above. This guy knows what he is talking about. It will be your coils or plugs.
     
  9. chevy quad

    chevy quad New Member

    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    May 16, 2011
    Location:
    adealide
    Members Ride:
    WB one tonner
    i would say it is the coil pack or i have come across the earth wire on the back of the head to the fire wall will corrode, and badly if the engine is wash with a gerny or alike. Not likely but i have replaced 5 last year and it stopped the problem of what you describe. If it is that, dont replace it with a factory one , get a flat wire braded one, from an auto elect. I found that out from my two years in an holden workshop. People spend a whole heap of money, cant find the problemand thats all it is. On some models they dont even have the wire to the back of the head to the fire wall, but on major servicing , holdens normally put the wire in, weather it has a problem or not. hope this helps!
     
  10. slayer73

    slayer73 New Member

    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Location:
    Tarneit
    Members Ride:
    VZ SV6
    happened to me 3 months ago...changed plugs and all gone...runs well now never skip a beat....
     
  11. slayer73

    slayer73 New Member

    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Location:
    Tarneit
    Members Ride:
    VZ SV6
    whats on your clock...?mine was 105k when it happened...
     
  12. dylsrach

    dylsrach New Member

    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Joined:
    May 11, 2011
    Location:
    Murray Bridge
    Members Ride:
    SV6 Crewman
    Cheers mate will do. Might be a trip to the auto sparky I think, don't really know my way around under the bonnet of a VZ...
     
  13. dylsrach

    dylsrach New Member

    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Joined:
    May 11, 2011
    Location:
    Murray Bridge
    Members Ride:
    SV6 Crewman
    102k on the clock - might be more common than I thought...
     
  14. dylsrach

    dylsrach New Member

    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Joined:
    May 11, 2011
    Location:
    Murray Bridge
    Members Ride:
    SV6 Crewman
    Cheers for the help boys, I'll let u know how its goes...
     
  15. kronich3244

    kronich3244 New Member

    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    May 10, 2011
    Location:
    Sydney
    Members Ride:
    VL Calais Manual, VZ SV6 Manual
    no worries mate, glad i could help!!!
     
  16. crazy

    crazy New Member

    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2014
    Location:
    NSW
    Members Ride:
    VY 11 Commodore 2004
    Check PVC pipe for cracks between Air filter and Carby.
    Just replaced coils and plugs only to spot a crack in PVC when i opened it a little the car would run rough.
    This goes hand in hand with exaloration as the engine would pull it open when throttle on.
     
  17. A9L

    A9L Donating Member

    Messages:
    235
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Joined:
    May 11, 2014
    Location:
    Perth
    Members Ride:
    VZ Calais LS1
    You mean PCV? Also, thread is over 6 months dead. Hope he has it sorted by now.
     
  18. jdg

    jdg New Member

    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2014
    Location:
    australia
    Members Ride:
    VZ
    Same issue here, it was my plugs.
     
  19. 300kplusvz

    300kplusvz New Member

    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2014
    Location:
    Byron Bay
    Members Ride:
    VZ alloytec commodore
    Hey matey, just wondering what bank the early wire was usually put on?
    Got a major misfire on my Vz, keeps coming up as misfire on 1but I've changed the coil twice (with second hand one's I knew to be working).
     
  20. 300kplusvz

    300kplusvz New Member

    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2014
    Location:
    Byron Bay
    Members Ride:
    VZ alloytec commodore
    Earth wire.... Bloody phone...
     

Share This Page