Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

New Posts Contact us

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

[Ecotec] Wade 1114a cam question.

Head_is

New Member
Joined
Feb 18, 2008
Messages
36
Reaction score
1
Points
0
Location
WA
Members Ride
2011 SV6 Sedan
I was thinking of getting a wade 1114a for my vy. They told me I need to get something done with memcal. Not sure but would any of you know a place that would do it in perth

Also any other things that need/should be done to go with the cam.
 

vxcalais_01

Active Member
Joined
Jul 18, 2006
Messages
1,256
Reaction score
10
Points
38
Location
Melbourne
Members Ride
VX Calais 3.8
Kostecki ? Arent they the blokes down that side ?
 

immortality

Can't live without smoky bacon!
Staff member
Joined
Apr 15, 2006
Messages
15,547
Reaction score
3,670
Points
113
Location
Sth Auck, NZ
Members Ride
HSV VS Senator, VX s2 Calais S/C
with that cam you will really need to increase the compression ratio, may also wanna do valve springs as well so you can rev it without worrying about valve float
 

savage1987

Donating Member
Joined
May 8, 2005
Messages
3,660
Reaction score
31
Points
48
Location
Townsville
Website
www.facebook.com
Members Ride
LS1 VN + WK Grange 0010 + HPW VX SS
I was thinking of getting a wade 1114a for my vy. They told me I need to get something done with memcal.
It is apparently not so easy to tune the stock computer in a VY, many people who cam the VY Ecotecs seem to run a Haltech or similar, which could create a bit of a headache on its own.. Make sure you look into this further before committing to a cam upgrade as you do not want to be left with an untuned end result!!

Sam
 

delcowizzid

on holiday
Joined
Jul 8, 2008
Messages
6,989
Reaction score
431
Points
83
Location
NZ
Members Ride
в∞ѕтεכ √&
there is software to tune the vy but yes its not as easy as the earlier models
 
Top