Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

water on top of engine

Discussion in 'VR - VS Holden Commodore (1993 - 1997)' started by marcoVR, Apr 15, 2009.

1. marcoVR

marcoVR New Member

Members Ride:
    VR Acclaim S2
    I have a VR Acclaim series 2 - I have water pooling in one of the gaps on top of the engine. It's coming from one of the bolts on the driver side. I can see the water seeping out after I drive it. I am new to this, can anyone tell if this is a common problem? What are those bolt for, can I tighten them myself, there are 3 on either side. Any help will be appreciated.

Last edited: Apr 15, 2009
  2. cander24

cander24 New Member

Members Ride:
    VZ GTO. VS LS1.
    Would it be possible for you to post up at picture at all? From the sounds of it you have a leaking manifold (valley) gasket and this will need to be replaced. This is the gasket that forms a seal between your inlet manifold and your cylinder heads and stops engine coolant mixing with your inlet charge. It is not an uncommon problem at all and is a simple remove and replace procedure to fix.

3. marcoVR

marcoVR New Member

Members Ride:
    VR Acclaim S2
    picture

here's a better picture, it doesn't show the bolts but if you've seen a VR engine you'll know what I'm talking about. where the 3 arrows are there are 3 bolts. The one on the driver side closest to the front is leaking water.

Attached Files:

4. davway

davway New Member

Members Ride:
    WK LS1 Statesman
    have you tried tightening the bolt first?

5. marcoVR

marcoVR New Member

Members Ride:
    VR Acclaim S2
    hey

I don't know anything about engines. I haven't tried tightening it. Is there anything I can f^#k up by tightening the bolt?

6. Pub247

Pub247 Well-Known Member

Members Ride:
    Ford Fairmont
    not realy just dont try to tighten it too much as it may snap

7. marcoVR

marcoVR New Member

Members Ride:
    VR Acclaim S2