Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

New Posts Contact us

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

what software is needed for tuning vs v6 ecotec..

shwarno

Shwarnostics!
Joined
Sep 3, 2007
Messages
56
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Location
mildura
Website
www.dirtydepo.piczo.com
Members Ride
VS Ute S-PACK V6
what software is there.. if any to tune a v6 ecotec vs. ? is there any or do i have to upgrade to a haltec of similer
 

immortality

Can't live without smoky bacon!
Staff member
Joined
Apr 15, 2006
Messages
15,929
Reaction score
4,176
Points
113
Location
Sth Auck, NZ
Members Ride
HSV VS Senator, VX s2 Calais S/C
you can tune the VS with tunerpro and a burner.... but you need a definition file which isn't out in the public domain yet it seems. seeing as fitting a piggyback system isn't actually legal i guess it's best to go with kalmaker as atleast yur still using the original delco setup
 

stocky

New Member
Joined
Jun 14, 2005
Messages
5,040
Reaction score
80
Points
0
Age
33
Location
Melbourne
Members Ride
1995 HSV Clubsport T5, 1991 VN Berlina
there is a partial definition file out there if you know where to look and how to fiddle with tunerpro
 

GTP 85

291 hp @ the wheels
Joined
Aug 23, 2006
Messages
1,462
Reaction score
21
Points
0
Age
35
Location
Murray Bridge S.A
Members Ride
MY04 WRX, VS SSenator & VS V6 track weapon
Find someone who tunes the factory Delco and get it tuned properly on a dyno. Cheaper than any of these piggyback jobs (up to a certain performance point) and much better than a generic tune chip.

I used to run Kalmaker.. not anymore! cold starts were [email protected] Some of my mates that run kalmaker continue to have tune difficulties.

Personally I would never run a generic "mailorder" tune. Why do it when a dyno tune is not that much more expensive, and can be taylored specifically for your engine = maximum gains can be achieved.

Just my opinion..
 

383 hatch

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jun 14, 2005
Messages
3,922
Reaction score
65
Points
48
Age
38
Location
Cowes, Phillip Island
Members Ride
VG Ute 5.0,Torana hatch 383,WB Ute 5.0,VR stato5.0
Get with the times man, you need a Haltech.......seems to be the way to go these days! *Note: Sarcasm intended*

REV-231: You say get it tuned on a dyno, but then you say Kalmaker is crap??? I don't know what the tuner you go to uses, but all the tuners i know of use Kalmaker to tune the Delco on a dyno. As far as i was aware that is the only program you can use to tune the Delco in real time.....
 

GTP 85

291 hp @ the wheels
Joined
Aug 23, 2006
Messages
1,462
Reaction score
21
Points
0
Age
35
Location
Murray Bridge S.A
Members Ride
MY04 WRX, VS SSenator & VS V6 track weapon
Get with the times man, you need a Haltech.......seems to be the way to go these days! *Note: Sarcasm intended*

REV-231: You say get it tuned on a dyno, but then you say Kalmaker is crap??? I don't know what the tuner you go to uses, but all the tuners i know of use Kalmaker to tune the Delco on a dyno. As far as i was aware that is the only program you can use to tune the Delco in real time.....
When i went and got my ecu setup the 1st time the tuner said that i had to purchase a piggyback ecu, this was back when i didnt know anything abut commos. He said its called Kalmaker the ecu cost around 1k plus tuning. It ran like SH!T and didnt gain anything! went to another tuner (current one) he said scrap all that setup that the other guy did, back to stock ecu and tune that.

Now she runs beautifully and none of the rubbish i went thru before, and heaps of power. i still know little about the technical side of tuning, but through 4 tunes with the current tuner nothing about Kalmaker has ever been mentioned??? also cost me a couple hundred to fine tune now, as opposed to much more with whatever was in there before!
 

greenfoam

New Member
Joined
Jan 13, 2005
Messages
7,902
Reaction score
125
Points
0
Age
99
Members Ride
VP Executive R-spec
The stock ecu and kalmaker are the same thing, it's just a stock ecu that's been modified to have some ram in it so you can change the tune in real time. If someone else is doing the tune he would have pluged his kalmaker (modified stock ecu) in your car then run it on the dyno, adjust it up. Burn the final tune on a memcal and whack it in your ecu. So the difference was in the guy doing the tuning. Also he might have just burnt your tune a few times untill it was right and just used a non real time stock ecu, makes no difference just that it's not as fast. Like stocky mentioned the partial definition that's currently still being worked on for the super 6 (not sure who's doing it) has allready got enough tables complete to tune most VS's and it's easy to change the address's to a stock NA tune
 

sircruisealotVS

Well-Known Member
Joined
Dec 1, 2005
Messages
2,934
Reaction score
50
Points
48
Age
35
Location
South Brisbane
Members Ride
VZ LS1 Calais
what software is there.. if any to tune a v6 ecotec vs. ? is there any or do i have to upgrade to a haltec of similer
id call getting a haltec a downgrade...but thats just me.
as already said, kalmaker software is capable of tuning the delco pcm without the need for aftermarket ecu's.
 

daron

wizfiz
Joined
Mar 28, 2006
Messages
1,420
Reaction score
28
Points
48
Location
adelaide
Members Ride
VE SSV
delco are the bomb
remapping it is better
gibbs your was done with kalmaker
kalmarker is good mine works fine
 
Top