Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

What will i need to swap motors

Discussion in 'Just Commodores Polls' started by sc0tt187, Jul 8, 2015.

  1. sc0tt187

    sc0tt187 New Member

    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2013
    Location:
    coonamble nsw
    Members Ride:
    1998 vt calais 5litre v8
    Hi everyone im changing the motor over in a vt commodore iv never done this before its just the motor being swapped not the gearbox any suggestions will be greatly appreciated :)
     
  2. Nut Kracker

    Nut Kracker Kamikraze

    Messages:
    4,739
    Likes Received:
    103
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2012
    Location:
    Echuca Vic.
    Members Ride:
    VT SS 304ci (195i)
  3. TI3VOM

    TI3VOM Active Member

    Messages:
    2,281
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2009
    Location:
    Here there and everywhere.
    Members Ride:
    VT Commodore
    Ummm what engine do you have and what engine are you swapping to? That sort of information is really helpful.
     
  4. sc0tt187

    sc0tt187 New Member

    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2013
    Location:
    coonamble nsw
    Members Ride:
    1998 vt calais 5litre v8
    Iv got 2 3.8 litre v6 motors ones litterally screwed both ecotech motors just need to know what gaskets etc ill need
     
  5. TI3VOM

    TI3VOM Active Member

    Messages:
    2,281
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2009
    Location:
    Here there and everywhere.
    Members Ride:
    VT Commodore

    If your just unbolting one engine and replacing with the other, you shouldn't need any gaskets.
    Also it's Ecotec. Good luck with the engine swap.
     
  6. sc0tt187

    sc0tt187 New Member

    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2013
    Location:
    coonamble nsw
    Members Ride:
    1998 vt calais 5litre v8
    So i take it its gonna be a prick of a job bein an ecotech motor?? :s
     
  7. Pollushon

    Pollushon Boost gives me a bar....

    Messages:
    2,068
    Likes Received:
    118
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Location:
    Canberra
    Members Ride:
    VY SS
    It's a piece of piss mate, couple of bolts on the engine mounts (I strongly suggest you replace those while you're at it) and 10 (?) IIRC on the bell housing, disconnect all hoses, wires and cables then you can hoist her out. I'd also do exhaust manifold gaskets while I was at it too.

    Trickiest bit if you're not familiar with the Eco is where all the ancillary bits go, but if you take lots of pics all over you can refer to them or post back here.
     

Share This Page