Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

Where can I buy a new door lock actuator?

Discussion in 'VE Holden Commodore (2006 - 2013)' started by 316, Feb 8, 2019.

  1. 316

    316 Computers

    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2011
    Location:
    Perth
    Members Ride:
    VE Series II SV6
    My beloved VE2 SV6 has been pretty much perfect for the past 8 years, but a few things have started to go bad. In particular, my radio doesn't turn off when I open the door which I've learnt is a door actuator problem (have to flick the latch while holding the door handle open sometimes dozens of times).

    I've been putting up with it but it's getting on my nerves now. Gonna try fix it myself so just need the door actuator. Can anyone tell me a trustworthy place I can order a new one online?
     
  2. dgp

    dgp Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,322
    Likes Received:
    424
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2011
    Location:
    Victoria
    Members Ride:
    VF II SSV Redline
    Why not just buy from Holden?
    If you are talking about the little black push in switch, take it out and give it a clean with contact cleaner.
     
  3. gohrdrgomad

    gohrdrgomad Active Member

    Messages:
    433
    Likes Received:
    67
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2016
    Location:
    Australia
    Members Ride:
    VxCaly57
    As a service proceedure a lubricant is applied. Every month l spray mine with LANOX about $12 at Bunnings. My door locks/actuators are now 18 years old.
     
  4. VS 5.0

    VS 5.0 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    3,469
    Likes Received:
    2,595
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2006
    Location:
    Perth WA
    Members Ride:
    VE SSV Z Series M6
    Can't just turn the radio off ?
     
  5. Dayvo

    Dayvo Because i can

    Messages:
    2,238
    Likes Received:
    1,225
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2005
    Location:
    South East,Victoria
    Members Ride:
    VE SV6 Series 2
    When you turn off the radio it will display the day and date on the screen even after you lock the car . The screen shuts down after about half an hour .
     
    316 and VS 5.0 like this.
  6. 316

    316 Computers

    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2011
    Location:
    Perth
    Members Ride:
    VE Series II SV6
    I don't have the regular little push button thingy. It's part of the door latch system. I'm gonna be trying to pull the whole thing out when I get a chance though.

    I kind of just assumed Holden would charge more than if I could just find an online shop (I buy everything online these days!). I did send an inquiry to my local dealer a few days ago but never got a response.

    I've already been trying to spray contact cleaner into it. But as in my above message, it's a whole contraption thing and there's no easy way to get the contact cleaner inside very far. It has helped somewhat though, but it's getting worse.

    I've had to do that but the system still kind of stays 'on' and then shuts off eventually. I just don't like the idea and would prefer to fix it before I sell the car (considering selling later this year maybe).
     
  7. gohrdrgomad

    gohrdrgomad Active Member

    Messages:
    433
    Likes Received:
    67
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2016
    Location:
    Australia
    Members Ride:
    VxCaly57
    lt isnt a contact cleaner. It is to lubricate the actuator. If you are going to replace go genuine if the option is available.
     
  8. 316

    316 Computers

    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2011
    Location:
    Perth
    Members Ride:
    VE Series II SV6
    Sorry, yeah, I've tried some silicone lubricant as well. I'm trying to get a genuine one, just thought there might be online stores I could order one in easily from.
     
  9. VS 5.0

    VS 5.0 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    3,469
    Likes Received:
    2,595
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2006
    Location:
    Perth WA
    Members Ride:
    VE SSV Z Series M6
  10. 316

    316 Computers

    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2011
    Location:
    Perth
    Members Ride:
    VE Series II SV6
  11. gohrdrgomad

    gohrdrgomad Active Member

    Messages:
    433
    Likes Received:
    67
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2016
    Location:
    Australia
    Members Ride:
    VxCaly57
    Alan Mance holden store $209 delivered. Google ve door actuator and youl be suprised.
     
  12. stick3

    stick3 Active Member

    Messages:
    557
    Likes Received:
    103
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Location:
    newcastle nsw
    Members Ride:
    vz sedan vs ute gsx1400
    price one from holden than you can compare prices here is a few places
    plenty on ebay new and used also try holmart, oz car parts smithfeld or get on one off the commodore buy sell swaps sites on facebook
     
    krusing likes this.
  13. lmoengnr

    lmoengnr Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,772
    Likes Received:
    790
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2012
    Location:
    Sunbury Vic.
    Members Ride:
    MY12.5 Maloo R8, MY12 Redline ute, Magnum 224
    Go to a Holden dealer, give them your VIN, so they can give you the correct version for your car.
    There were a few revisions over the years...
    Complex little buggers...

    DEW_1676 (Large).JPG
     
    VS_Pete and VS 5.0 like this.
  14. VS 5.0

    VS 5.0 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    3,469
    Likes Received:
    2,595
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2006
    Location:
    Perth WA
    Members Ride:
    VE SSV Z Series M6
    I've purchased from them before. No probs.
     
  15. rjp

    rjp Member

    Messages:
    150
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Joined:
    May 2, 2009
    Members Ride:
    WM Caprice
    "There were a few revisions over the years..."
    Yep, when I replaced mine in my 07 WM, I had to replace the cables too. The old ones were too long.
     
  16. krusing

    krusing Active Member

    Messages:
    184
    Likes Received:
    58
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2014
    Location:
    Bayside, Melbourne
    Members Ride:
    2002 VY L67 Calais Sedan, 2012 VE L77 Calais Wagon
    I had exactly the same problem, I searched eBay, but asking to much,
    I got one from the Wreckers, for $40, if it fails with in 12months or 20,000k as per allegedly GM's spare parts warranty, I'm still in front
    Considering it only took 1/2 hour to replace.
    Well that was 60k's, and 2 years ago and hasn't failed since.
    Keeping in mind, If you purchased a new one, "GM's Warranty is only valid of THEY install it", at a over inflated cost.
     
  17. VS 5.0

    VS 5.0 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    3,469
    Likes Received:
    2,595
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2006
    Location:
    Perth WA
    Members Ride:
    VE SSV Z Series M6
    ACL would say otherwise.
     
  18. lmoengnr

    lmoengnr Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,772
    Likes Received:
    790
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2012
    Location:
    Sunbury Vic.
    Members Ride:
    MY12.5 Maloo R8, MY12 Redline ute, Magnum 224
    The revisions were to change the potted micro switch to a more reliable version.
     
    krusing likes this.

Share This Page