Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

Where to run amp power wire

ozzie_online88

I'm No Superman...
Reaction score
Members Ride
2003 VY S1 Exec
Hey y'all,

Getting my new deck in a couple of weeks, and just setting up the ground work, i'm a fair novice and this will be my first sound system install.

I want to run the amp power cable down the drivers side of the car, is there an easy way of getting from the engine bay into the cabin and down under the carpet/side plastic? Any hints/tips?

Removal of the glove box? (for rest of the cables)

Is removing the back seat going to be the same as removing a VR one? Push forward n pull up.

CANYONERO

Likes Cheese...
Reaction score
Members Ride
V8 6spd wif MOMO leavaa.
do a search and you will find all the info your after. thats what i did. i ran my amp wire down the drivers side no probs and the back seat is simple enough to do. good luck on your mission.

Benboy

Reaction score
Members Ride
2007 SVZ Wagon
If you've got an auto, have a look on the firewall, engine side down below the brake booster and in toward the rear of the engine. You should find a rectangle shaped rubber plug. If you lift the carpet in the footwell you should also be able to see it. Just push it out - toward the engine and then drill a hole in it, the size of the cable(s), feed cables through and seal around them with a good silastic type sealer. Replace the rubber plug making sure that it is correctly seated (to keep water and fumes from entering), replace carpet and route the wires along under the door sills - after having removed them. The rest should be easy.

andyman

The Only 6sp VZ Wagon
Reaction score
Members Ride
2012 BT50 4x4, 84 Hilux 4x4 & 05 Husky TE450