Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

Which 4L60E gearbox do I have?

purrVN

Reaction score
Members Ride
VN S1 Executive
Hi all,

I bought a VR v6 engine off a bloke the other day who had a few parts and wrecked commos lying aroung and he threw in a 4L60E box as well, which he claimed he was fairly sure it was from a VR also, but cuoldn't have been from the same VR as the motor because the box was still in that particular car. Now this box has the 13 pin green plug on it, which I was under the impression was the VS gearbox, but i'm no expert so I was wondering if someone could confirm or deny this so I know whether to sell it to a mate with a vs or not. Thanks!

pendles

Reaction score
Members Ride
VR commodore
vr is a 4hdd box. don't know if it differs in year models but vs would be different as its not a Buick engine.
hope that narrows it down for you

Jonah 101

Undefined
Reaction score
Members Ride
R32 Skyline
The vs box will bolt up to the buick, just use the right flex plate for your engine as they are balanced differently. Pretty sure the electronics are compatible too, not sure though as I have never put a VS box in the VR before.

purrVN

Reaction score
Members Ride
VN S1 Executive
nah apparently the plug on the box is different as well as possibly the extension housing but they were both 4L60E box's. Need to know which one this one is out of that's all

Jonah 101

Undefined
Reaction score
Members Ride
R32 Skyline
nah apparently the plug on the box is different as well as possibly the extension housing but they were both 4L60E box's. Need to know which one this one is out of that's all

Haven't you answered your own question then?

Just see if your plug is the same or different compared to your car.

purrVN

Reaction score
Members Ride
VN S1 Executive