Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

New Posts Contact us

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

Which oil filter for an ecotec?

gogoboygareth

New Member
Joined
Feb 1, 2004
Messages
215
Reaction score
1
Points
0
Age
42
Location
Melbourne
Members Ride
VXII Commodore Exec
Hi all,

I used to get my car serviced under warranty at Holden, and they always used either a GM stamped filter, or a Cooper filter... and now getting it serviced at K-Mart Tyre & Auto, they use Ryco...

What's a better oil filter? I always get Castrol Magnatec, which seems like a good oil for my particular car - but I'm not too sure about the filter! I might get them to put in something a bit better, and my car is getting on in km's so I might want to make sure it has a lot of life left...

Are the "pureone" filters (which sell for around $15 a supercheap auto) worth the extra $10 over the ryco/valvoline they sell?
 

WAGON MAN

Gas Sleeper
Joined
Jun 7, 2006
Messages
1,059
Reaction score
12
Points
38
Location
North Coast , NSW
Members Ride
VX S2 Berlina Wagon with Phreddied bits.
Just purchase some genuine filters from the spare parts department at your Holden dealer.
 

vztrt

New Member
Joined
Jan 14, 2006
Messages
393
Reaction score
6
Points
0
Age
37
Location
NTH Suburbs Melbourne
Members Ride
VXII Exec
gogoboygareth said:
Hi all,

I used to get my car serviced under warranty at Holden, and they always used either a GM stamped filter, or a Cooper filter... and now getting it serviced at K-Mart Tyre & Auto, they use Ryco...
If you look Cooper filters actually come from Korea, least the ones in my old Camry did.

If you dont want a GM one goto supers#it and get a Pureone filter. They are one of the best filters that arnt a performance filter.
 

gogoboygareth

New Member
Joined
Feb 1, 2004
Messages
215
Reaction score
1
Points
0
Age
42
Location
Melbourne
Members Ride
VXII Commodore Exec

WAGON MAN

Gas Sleeper
Joined
Jun 7, 2006
Messages
1,059
Reaction score
12
Points
38
Location
North Coast , NSW
Members Ride
VX S2 Berlina Wagon with Phreddied bits.
The decision is yours Gareth.....

Either buy genuine Holden or aftermarket.
 

EXCESSV

New Member
Joined
Sep 27, 2005
Messages
1,015
Reaction score
11
Points
0
Age
37
Location
Perth, WA
Members Ride
VE SSV
just use the Ryco or valvoline....its more than adeqaute and at under $10 is good value
 

Harvs82

Active Member
Joined
Dec 29, 2005
Messages
1,102
Reaction score
15
Points
38
Age
39
Location
Glen Waverley VIC
Members Ride
MY08 Subaru Liberty GT-B & MY16 VF II SS Redline
I just use the genuine ones from holden, and usually buy a few at a time as I change my oil every 5000kms. Costs about $9 each, which is pretty much lineball with the ryco et al. Also pick up a few sump plug rings at the same time from GMH
 

myberlina

BAD COP! NO DOUGHNUT!!!
Joined
Aug 16, 2005
Messages
395
Reaction score
1
Points
0
Location
Melbourne, VICTORIA
Members Ride
2006 VE Calais
i just did my oil change last week. i used the Ryco model. Have been happy with that. Paid $8.99 for it at Autobarn.
 

sircruisealotVS

Well-Known Member
Joined
Dec 1, 2005
Messages
2,934
Reaction score
50
Points
48
Age
36
Location
South Brisbane
Members Ride
VZ LS1 Calais
i use the pure one filters on my ecotec, they seem to be the goods. id use a k&n if they would fit, last time i got one it was too long and hit the chassis.
 
Top