Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

Who can name this part???

miguel

Conche Su Madre
Reaction score
Members Ride
VT Wagon
Hi there, I'm a bit of a rookie with my commodore; only had it 3 weeks and she's overheating (so says the temp gauge - but no heat will come from the heaters???) anyway a check under the hood and this part is spitting steam/water can anyone tell me what it is? Cheers!

Attachments

• 2.jpg
    2.jpg
    240.1 KB · Views: 494
Last edited:

BOGANV8

I gotta V8 whoot whoot
Reaction score
Members Ride
VX 02 SS LS1
Its the heater tap/valve it let the hot coolant flow into the heater core in the cab and that where you get the heat from its vacum operated from your dash switch

When the dial is in the cold part this vavle is closed and when in the hot its open . :thumbsup: :thumbsup: :thumbsup: :thumbsup:

accentstencil

Reaction score
Members Ride
WH II Caprice, 5.7 2018 Equinox LTZ V
Hi there, I'm a bit of a rookie with my commodore; only had it 3 weeks and she's overheating (so says the temp gauge - but no heat will come from the heaters???) anyway a check under the hood and this part is spitting steam/water can anyone tell me what it is? Cheers!

Looks like you need a new one, not very expensive from memory. The are made of plastic and become very brittle with age.

miguel

Conche Su Madre
Reaction score
Members Ride
VT Wagon
Awsome, thanks a lot for your replys!!!

Would that also cause the temp gauge to show its overheating when its not?

accentstencil

Reaction score
Members Ride
Awsome, thanks a lot for your replys!!!

Would that also cause the temp gauge to show its overheating when its not?

Maybe because it's leaking you are low on water and it is getting hotter than usual.

miguel

Conche Su Madre
Reaction score
Members Ride
VT Wagon