Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

New Posts Contact us

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

Will a VS gearbox fit in a VR - gear ratios different?

Blakie

New Member
Joined
Apr 2, 2006
Messages
77
Reaction score
1
Points
0
Members Ride
94' VR Exec
Hey i was just wondering if anyone knows if a VS gearbox would fit in a VR, are the gear ratios the same or wha?

will it be worth getting installed as its cheaper than me getting a reco VR gearbox as i know someone who has a VS gearbox i can buy off them

by the way its auto... forgot to add that one lol

cheers for help in advance
 
Last edited:

mattman

New Member
Joined
Dec 12, 2005
Messages
2,305
Reaction score
11
Points
0
Location
Brisbane
Members Ride
'00 WH V6
1 - ECU won't work.
2 - I think the VR-VS have different bolt patterns for the trans.
 

Blakie

New Member
Joined
Apr 2, 2006
Messages
77
Reaction score
1
Points
0
Members Ride
94' VR Exec
aw damn, coulda got a gearbox for 200 bucks :p, but i suppose itll just die in some time anyway.. considering its not reco or anything

cheers anyway
 

brenz

New Member
Joined
Jun 14, 2005
Messages
36
Reaction score
1
Points
0
Age
32
Members Ride
VR Calais
ummm, 200 bucks for a getrag box? Where from very interested.... oh wait is it just a box not a kit?
 

klaka

New Member
Joined
Apr 26, 2006
Messages
24
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Members Ride
VY 5.7 sv8 6 speed
the auto gearbox is the same in the vr and vs

the manle box is the same in the vs series 1 only. In the series 2 the box changed but the moter didn't

use the vr ecu

the bloke and chank bolt paten in the vr's and the vs's are all the same it is the head disine that changed and a lot more sensers

and 200 i think it won't larst
 
Last edited:

Blakie

New Member
Joined
Apr 2, 2006
Messages
77
Reaction score
1
Points
0
Members Ride
94' VR Exec
its auto

Nah its an auto, just wana clarify that ive heard they wont fit?
im not sure if theyre different, if they arent, i can get the gearbox, its from a VS ute, not exactly sure what year

does the year matter? or did they not change the gearboxes in autos

im confused :p will a VS gearbox fit, and work exactly like a VR one would?
sorry its a confusing topic ive asked around and im getting heaps of different answers so i thought ask the pros on here lol

oh klaka its done like 90,000 ks, its a mates gearbox he was gona sell for at least 400, he got it when it was 60,000 ks so i think thatll be ok for a while?
 

TheForgotten

only human......
Joined
Dec 24, 2005
Messages
1,372
Reaction score
16
Points
0
Location
quarantine
Website
www.holdenscene.com
Members Ride
VR EXEC
yes it will bolt straight up. ECU won't like it though and will run in limp mode due to different lockup function. some people say you can change the lockup to suit via tuning, some say you can't change it at all.
just coz it has low k's doesn't mean it'll last
 

NickVR

Active Member
Joined
Jun 11, 2006
Messages
1,414
Reaction score
22
Points
38
Age
37
Location
Adelaide, SA
Members Ride
VR Executive A4 V8
I've been told by a mate of mine that he tried to fit a VR auto gearbox to his VS and it won't fit. Other people have told me too that they aren't interchangable between VR and VS.
 

Blakie

New Member
Joined
Apr 2, 2006
Messages
77
Reaction score
1
Points
0
Members Ride
94' VR Exec
ok cheers guys, looks like ill take the reliable expensive option

the dreaded $2000 or so reco gearbox :p just gota get the money... lol

thanx for all ur help
 

Hammers

Hammers
Joined
Oct 26, 2006
Messages
12
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Location
Brisbane
Members Ride
VS Executive S2 Auto
vs gearbox is computer controlled, vr isnt so it not justa drop in job
 
Top