Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

WL Caprice with bizarre problem

hqman74

Reaction score
Members Ride
WL Caprice 6.0 litre V8 & WK Caprice 5.7 litre V8
G'Day guys.

I'm just new to this, so please bare with me.

I purchased a WL Caprice with the 6.0 litre V8 (Gen IV) in April. It had already been fitted with LPG (yes I know this will get some comments LOL), but have had nothing but dramas with it.

The LPG fitted, is the vapour injected system which I have had fitted to my WK Caprice 5.7 litre and since fitting the WK with LPG, it has been great. Everything works as it should, including the traction control.

The WL however, has the following problem.

When running on LPG, the TRAC OFF message comes up on the dash within a few minutes. When this happens, it thumps severely into gears. In particular, is the change from 1st to 2nd gears. Even when downchanging, you can tell that it is harsh.

This all began not long after I bought it. Since then, I have replaced the following items:

1. Full under bonnett LPG system at a cost of $2200
2. Full set of ignition coils at a cost of $560 (Genuine coils but through another supplier)
3. Spark plugs and leads at a cost of $100
4. Crankshaft position sensor at a cost of $165
5. ABS module at a cost of $100 (second hand unit)

As you can imagine, I'm still having issues. The LPG system was replaced at the advice of 4 different "experts" who seemed to believe that it was wired incorrectly and based on the fact that it was a brand of LPG that nobody wanted to touch, I replaced every single LPG component under the hood. A totally new kit!

The last thing that I just did was replace the ABS module. This was done because when push came to shove, I ended up at a Holden service department when I ran out of options.