Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

WM Caprice SUB AND AMP help

Discussion in 'Car Audio' started by h4ydos, Jan 5, 2013.

  1. h4ydos

    h4ydos New Member

    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2012
    Location:
    drouin
    Members Ride:
    WM Caprice S2
    Hey guys, just got myself a new car and the bass is horrid that's the only thing about the sound that i don't like.

    I Don't know a lot about audio but my old man does. He thinks we can take the audio from the stock subs and use that as my amps audio in.

    In the back of my car i have the battery and 2 8" subs (STOCK). with the subs i can see the audio going in the speakers(i'v got a pic for what im talking about)

    So what i was wondering is if i can get a sub and amp combo and basically just take the audio from the subs (stock ones) and feed that into the amp ?

    here is the pic.

    thanks in advanced.

    cheers,
    h4ydos.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. h4ydos

    h4ydos New Member

    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2012
    Location:
    drouin
    Members Ride:
    WM Caprice S2
    BTW: my car is a WM Caprice Series 2

    With the IQ system on it. and also if any one else has done this please let me know how it sounds
     
  3. aussie4life11

    aussie4life11 Keep It Simple Stupid

    Messages:
    1,566
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2011
    Location:
    Western Australia
    Members Ride:
    94 vr 3.8l v6 Auto Acclaim, 2002 Vy Exec Auto
    as long as the amp has speaker line inputs then it should work
     
  4. SJM38S

    SJM38S New Member

    Messages:
    240
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2011
    Location:
    Tamworth NSW
    Members Ride:
    2001 VX Calais L67
    As above, make sure amp has speaker or "line in" inputs, also a lot of new amps have auto on and off meaning the signal through the speaker wires will automatically turn the amp on, and it shuts down 60 secs after last signal (as in a minute after the stereo turns off).
    Saves running signal wires :)
     
  5. SUP3RST4R_DJ

    SUP3RST4R_DJ Member

    Messages:
    589
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2011
    Location:
    Orange
    Members Ride:
    2011 MY11 Holden VE SSV Ute
    Some people have said swapping the + and - on the factory subs in the ve over makes them sound louder. I personally haven't tried it considering it costs nothing mightn't hurt to try and you may like the sound.
     
  6. h4ydos

    h4ydos New Member

    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2012
    Location:
    drouin
    Members Ride:
    WM Caprice S2
    yeah i read up about that swapping the + -'s around i was going to give that ago but. i didn't get around to it :p
     
  7. h4ydos

    h4ydos New Member

    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2012
    Location:
    drouin
    Members Ride:
    WM Caprice S2
    @ aussie4life11 and SJM38S

    Thanks guys, Means Alot.
     
  8. TrickyRicky08

    TrickyRicky08 New Member

    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2018
    Location:
    Garfield, Vic
    Members Ride:
    wm caprice 6.0
    Changing the stock speakers was very beneficial in the doors. It improved the sound quite a bit and also made it a little louder. I think I’ll be putting in seperate subs and an amp for the bass.
     
    Last edited: May 7, 2019

Share This Page