Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

[LS3] WN Caprice LS3 to GTS power - how?

VXBaz

Reaction score
Members Ride
2002 VX Series II Wagon
Hi, I'm a chauffer driver/owner operator and also a car nut and am considering upgrading my current WN seies 1 (6.0 litre) to a newer LS3 powered WN Series 2...just because I want to own the last and greatest Caprice ever made.

What are the differences between the GTS LS3 (325kw?) and the standard LS3 in the caprice? What would I need to do to the standard LS3 that comes in the WNII Caprice to make GTS type power? I also do Uber Black and Uber X and I'd get a kick out of picking people up in a "mobster" Caprice.

Will cams and heads be involved or is just a matter of OTR, exhaust and tune? I'd also like to add the resonator as well for more interior sound. Is it possible to retrofit one to a caprice? I know I could just buy a Grange but they're very hard to find and very pricey still at this early stage. I just want to build my own surprising Caprice.

Thanks.

426Cuda

SUBLIME!
Reaction score
Members Ride
VF Redline Sedan - A6 Spitfire MSE...
If 325kw is all you're looking for, a tune with no other mods will surpass that. Add some tri-y headers, HF cats, and an OTR, and you'll achieve around 380, with a glorious note and cabin noise from the OTR to boot.

VXBaz

Reaction score
Members Ride
2002 VX Series II Wagon
Even better! Thanks.

VXBaz

Reaction score
Members Ride
2002 VX Series II Wagon