Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

New Posts Contact us

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

Would a 190 alloytech fit in a vz executive??

mike_07

New Member
Joined
Dec 21, 2008
Messages
28
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Members Ride
vz bt1
hey guys, just wondering if a 190 alloytech motor and manual gearbox would fit right in a vz executive ... would i need to change anything or is it all pretty much the same .. thanks.
 

shozzy

"Licked by janitor"
Joined
Aug 19, 2008
Messages
28
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Age
30
Location
Kallangur, QLD
Members Ride
VZ executive 3.6
aren't they pretty much like the exact same engine apart from the executive has only got variable intake on one side of engine, where as the 190 is on both sides... im more than likely wrong but i think i remember reading that somewhere
 

pjdm1980

Shut up Jr I'm thinkin!
Joined
Feb 2, 2009
Messages
2,434
Reaction score
14
Points
38
Location
Geelong, Victoria
Members Ride
E1 GTS BUILD NO# 007, GQ Patrol.
It should bolt in but i would think it uses a different computer as the 190 has variable intake and exhaust valve timing and the 175 only has variable intake valve timing and should have same gearbox bolt pattern
 

mike_07

New Member
Joined
Dec 21, 2008
Messages
28
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Members Ride
vz bt1
hrmmm because i wanted to convert mine to a manual but its abit pricey still and i thought it would be better if the motor was originally manual, it would run better i think .. and would be easier to put in .. old out, new in if it fits plus its a 190 ..


still just finding info on it :)
 

BLU_FZ1

Member
Joined
Aug 23, 2007
Messages
81
Reaction score
0
Points
6
Location
Perth
Members Ride
07 SVZ Ute/A5 & 06 XR6T A6
I wouldnt even bother,the 190 is not a power house. I drive the 175 in an exec. at work and i can honestly say i can not tell any diff between my 190 ute
 

andyman

The Only 6sp VZ Wagon
Joined
Mar 29, 2005
Messages
3,783
Reaction score
64
Points
48
Age
31
Location
Orange, NSW
Members Ride
2012 BT50 4x4, 84 Hilux 4x4 & 05 Husky TE450
this is what i plan on doing, if you are going 190kw 6-speed into a 175 4sp everything seems to be plug and play, got a few more things to check in my manual, but only one harness needs to be changed (easy one) and a reflash with tech to to link the bcm with ecu and pim, and change the instrument cluster software aswell,


if you where going 4sp to 5sp, seems you will need to rip the dash out as the wiring is a wee bit different
 

mike_07

New Member
Joined
Dec 21, 2008
Messages
28
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Members Ride
vz bt1
yeh im going the manual ... any idea on the price of a 190 motor and gearbox from a sv6 .. oh and how much do the 175 motors sell for and 4sp auto, so i know how much i can get for mine around.
 

PaulSV6

CHE Tuned 156.8rwkw
Joined
Jun 10, 2008
Messages
1,384
Reaction score
9
Points
0
Location
Castle Hill
Members Ride
VZ SV6 M6, MY10 VE SV6 Sportswagon & MY03 XC SRI

torana355

Member
Joined
Mar 24, 2009
Messages
889
Reaction score
1
Points
16
Location
Sydney
Members Ride
VE SERIES 2 MY11 SSV A6 in IVY GREEN
Wow 3750 aint bad for a brand new motor!
 

andyman

The Only 6sp VZ Wagon
Joined
Mar 29, 2005
Messages
3,783
Reaction score
64
Points
48
Age
31
Location
Orange, NSW
Members Ride
2012 BT50 4x4, 84 Hilux 4x4 & 05 Husky TE450
Hey mate,

Its halfway down the list:

COMMODORE VB-VE (ALL)

$3750 Alloytech 190 Manual (brand new)

lolz thats one part of many that is needed, if you bought all the parts new it would have to be $6k+ in parts,

im hoping to do this for $5 and thats with out selling all my other parts
 
Top