Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

New Posts Contact us

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

Wtf is going on how to fix

BoB G

New Member
Joined
Oct 29, 2018
Messages
15
Reaction score
0
Points
1
Age
21
Location
New South Wales
Members Ride
Lg2 vs ute
So I got a new H/U of a mate and was trying to install is cause I was wanting B/T (aux cords break every so often and it’s annoying to keep buying them) so I took out the old stereo(on the left in first image) and it’s got a different plug to the new one and I looked at the wiring loom and someone has just spliced the grey plug for the old H/U into the factory loom and now the white plug doesn’t work any answers on how to get them the white plug working again or if I can just buy a new one with the same wires and cut the other two plugs off to tidy it up abit?
 

Attachments

sleepa

Shiny...
Joined
Feb 23, 2010
Messages
923
Reaction score
32
Points
28
Location
Brisbane
Members Ride
2010 VE SS Sportwagon, Audi A4, Combo work hack
Looks like the white plug is for the factory stereo so no it wont work. Each manufacturers Head unit has there own specific plugs so they won't work with any other head units.

I assume the new stereo you have is the Clarion?
If so you need a new Clarion plug and wiring, buy from Supercheap or whatever, and if you want to make it easy get a VR or VS stereo patch lead from the same place and plug them all in.

Feel free to chop off the old grey wiring since it only suits the Alpine.

Don't bother messing with cutting the wiring and soldering them in etc unless you know what you are doing. And NEVER just twist and tape the ends, they could short out and blow the headunit, or worse potentially spark and start a fire.

Also after removing that grey plug and wiring it might be worth wrapping some good electrical tape around each wire they spliced into so that doesn't short out.

Seriously it's worth doing it properly.
 

BowTie

Active Member
Joined
Jul 12, 2008
Messages
596
Reaction score
150
Points
43
Location
Jindabyne
Members Ride
Vr vt
Buy new plugs and redo all joins with silver solder.

Assume it's dodgy.
 

vs-lover

Well-Known Member
Joined
Mar 9, 2013
Messages
2,443
Reaction score
1,590
Points
113
Location
Adelaide
Members Ride
VS S2 Calais, VS S2 Exec Wagon, VS S2 Acclaim
Silver Solder ???

That's probably the wrong terminology in this area. The solder you would use is normal tin / lead soft solder as Silver Solder is used in bonding of higher stressed items and requires a Oxy torch to melt.

Hope this clears that small discrepancy up before it escalates.
 

losh1971

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 17, 2010
Messages
13,310
Reaction score
6,551
Points
113
Location
North Tas
Members Ride
VE Series I SS Ute
Best thing I have found is solder joiners from Jaycar. They have solder inside shrink tube and all you need is a stove lighter to use them.
 

sleepa

Shiny...
Joined
Feb 23, 2010
Messages
923
Reaction score
32
Points
28
Location
Brisbane
Members Ride
2010 VE SS Sportwagon, Audi A4, Combo work hack
Best thing I have found is solder joiners from Jaycar. They have solder inside shrink tube and all you need is a stove lighter to use them.
Pic and/or link please.
 

losh1971

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 17, 2010
Messages
13,310
Reaction score
6,551
Points
113
Location
North Tas
Members Ride
VE Series I SS Ute
They also come in packs of 5.
 
Top