Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

Service Help

substanceVX

Reaction score
Members Ride
VX Series 2 "S" Pac Supercharged
Ok guys im about to do my first service on the car (VX Series 2). I would like to know if possible some of the things i should look for and do other then the general oil change and oil filter ect.. Also what kind of oil and filter do you all recommend. As this is my first time doing it by myself I would like to do a good job. Any tips would be apprecieated :) thanks alot.

accentstencil

Reaction score
Members Ride
WH II Caprice, 5.7 2018 Equinox LTZ V
If you have the owner's manual that came with the car, it has a section in the back which tells you what should be done and at how many kilometers. As for oil I recommend a semi synthetic 15W-50 but I don't claim to know which brands are better than others.
If you don't have the owners manual let us know and I'm sure you will get advice.

Stretchomatic

Reaction score
Website
www.facebook.com
Members Ride
86 VL Berlina M5
yeah that bugs me with my car...it didnt have a manual...lucky dads utes are both VS and he has a (similar to) gregories manual hahaha

Shounak

The Kicking Horse
Reaction score
Members Ride
VX Executive S2 + XF Panel Van Project
Best oil would be semi synthetic Penrite either 15w-40 or 10w-50..

You could also even use 10w-30 Mobil 1, but it has a hefty price tag. One new oil which I have yet to try is the Penrite Syn range of Full synthetics. They make a 15w-50, which would be perfecto..

Check the condition of all of your fluids. F*ck the handbook if you've never done it..

If the tranny or PS fluid is dark red to maroon, change em.. If you don't know when brake fluid was last changed or brakes are a bit spongy, change it.

If coolant is sludgy, brown, lacking colour, flush it out..