Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

308 304 Holden V8 Revisions (5000i)

8rody

Reaction score
Members Ride
VN
Hello all!

I'm new, looking to 'upgrade' into the Holden V8 space (after getting sick of the Buick 3800, i've rebuilt way too many). I've done some googling, and havent been able to come up with any concrete evidence of any revision differences between the 308/304 Turbo-Hydramattic Bolt Pattern motors.

Are there any revision differences between the VN - VT?

Also, am I able to grab a say, a cheap solid WB 308 block Turbo-Hydramattic Bolt Pattern and fuel inject it / cams etc with no incompatibility problems?

Please excuse my lack of knowledge in this department, yes i'm a Noob. Be kind!

Thanks mates!

ScoHar

Jizz in my pants
Reaction score
Members Ride
VS Senator
not 100% sure but the V8 VN-VT only had slight changes, and most were internal so if you pick one of these up would be your best bet, you'll prob spend the same amount of money doing that to a 308 as you would just buying the 304.

Immortality

Can't live without smoky bacon!
Staff member
Reaction score
Members Ride
HSV VS Senator, VX Calais II L67
yes you can use the entire top end of a injected motor on a early 308 block

bear in mind however that from VN onwards the heads have different port spacings to the earlier 308 heads so different intake and exhaust manifolds are required as well as a cam to suit.

picking up a complete VN engine shouldn't be to expensive. get the wiring loom whilst your at it.

VN-VS are fairly much identical. however the VT 304 had a roller cam fitted and various other changes. although the VT blocks are suppose to have some of the best webbing in the valley of all the 304 blocks they seem to suffer badly from core shift.

the best block would be the VN GRP A with 4bolt mains

burnz