Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

Another question about GAS and memcals etc..

comtim

Reaction score
Members Ride
VN
I am a newb, excuse the dumb question.

With a car that runs LPG, do performance chips still apply ? Do the computers in LPG cars still map fuel injection and all the other things they control as they would in a petrol only set up ? thanks.

VpV6

Banned
Reaction score
Members Ride
VP II Executive
It all depends on the setup.

If you have a gas/petrol setup, while running on PETROL the chip practically behaves like a standard chip for a commodore.

Now when your running a dedicated or gas/petrol setup on GAS the chip will do varied things depended on your gas setup. If you have a single point gas setup on the throttle body, the chip may or may not map out the fuel utilization curves and all of the other stuff a stock one does. (Actually, it probably will map out the above things, but will not alter the mixture to compensate since the setup is very simple). It all depends on the sophistication of the LPG installation.

However if you have a sophisticated multipoint gas setup, the chip will do most things a standard chip will do, map out fuel utilization, knocks, spark timing etc. It will automatically adjust mixture and timing to give optimum performance.

Hope this isnt too confusing!

comtim

Reaction score
Members Ride
VN
Thanks VPV6.

How can I go about checking what sort of gas system I have? I am pretty clueless on these things. I know the install was done in 92...

VpV6

Banned
Reaction score
Members Ride
VP II Executive