Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

[VR-VS] How To VR/VS Caster Radius Z bar/rod Bushes

DannyboyDS

Just hand me the pliers.
Reaction score
Members Ride
VS Berlina
Disclaimer:
I'm not a mechanic nor do I have any qualifications in the automotive industry, If you have
problems due to this information it's not my fault, I suggest paying for any work done to the steering system, safety first.

Materials:
2 X front radius rod bushes
2 X Rear radius rod bushes

These are both for the front of the vehicle front and rear refer to each end of the radius rod I believe.

A Radius Rod is also knowns as a Caster bar or a Z bar

These are the tools I used

attachment.php

Jack
Stands

Sockets/wrenches -

Radius Rod to LCA (Lower Control Arm) 30mm or 1-3/16
Radius Rod to Chassi 24mm or 15/16
LCA to Chassi 19mm or 3/4

Power Drill with small drill bit
Soap (keep it moist, I left mine soaking in water, the gunk is good)
Sealed Worklight
Grips
Knife
Rubber mallet + some pipe or a rod
and an assortment of junk and other tools can help too, whatever makes you confortable.

A special tool you will need to push the bushes in, here is a picture of it
Basically it a long threaded bolt, some large washers a large piece of pipe and a nut.

But this tool needs to be fairly long, mine was a bit too long, but you should get the idea, I reckon about 9 inches would suffice, maybe 10.

attachment.php

So firstly jack the car up, after reaching a comfortable height slap a stand under there too.

attachment.php

Next grab the spanners and loosen all the nuts, just crack them basically so they are a sinch to do later, a good start really.

Radius rod to Chassi
attachment.php

Radius Rod to LCA (This one is Super Duper Tight)
attachment.php

Lower Control Arm to Chassi

attachment.php

attachment.php