Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

Mechanics and Non-Mechanics welcome! Share what you know!

Are you a mechanic?

• Yes

Votes: 20 23.5%
  • No

Votes: 65 76.5%

• Total voters

Boonz

Donating Member
Reaction score
Members Ride
green 355 VG ute
ive been working as a mechanic for almost 8 years now, and i can safely say that ill never learn everything there is to know about the job, but if you really love working on cars and understand how things work, then go for gold.
but its definately worth getting an old(ish) car and like everyones said, strip it, inspect it and put it back together and learn the basics.

ive been playing round with cars since i can remember and was getting taught how to do things before i even started my apprenticeship, so by the time tradeschool came around, it was more like a refresh your memory course.

the only downside to being a mechanic is the pay while on an apprenticeship, you ahve to work hard to make good money

nemesis_adrasteia

better to reign in hell
Reaction score
Members Ride
VR commodore HSV(without all the gay ****)
im currently an apprentice mechanic, its not a bad job. youve gotta be keen though, the pays **** and the work is hard.

vkwalks39

NUCKING FUTS
Reaction score
Members Ride
VK V8 / VH V8 / VR V8
I'm just a backyard hacker. I started out my 1st yr as a mechanic and hated it.And now, Just a vineyard bum.

klampy

Reaction score
Members Ride
Mazda E2000 V6 convert
I'm not a mechanic, the closest I have come to any sort of training was work experience at a mechanics which mostly involved sweeping floors and getting lunch...