Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

Locksmith Questions

Reaction score
Members Ride
VX Berlina S1
Hey, guys. I've been a locksmith for almost 10 years now and have seen a lot of misinformation regarding commodore ignitions, locks and keys, even on this forum.

Just want to give you guys a chance to ask any questions and am more than happy to clear a few things up.

Just don't ask about breaking in or anything like that. Not gonna help anyone steal a car.

Rossbx

Reaction score
Members Ride
'96 VS Commodore Equipe Sedan
Cool, a locksmith!! :yahoo:
I have just bought a VS Commodore Equipe sedan and the key blade is loose in the head. Is there any way of tightening it up so it is firm? I have tried tightening the screws but it wasn't successful. Also, can the battery be replaced or would I have to buy a complete new head?
Thanks,
Rossco

nemesis_adrasteia

better to reign in hell
Reaction score
Members Ride
VR commodore HSV(without all the gay ****)
I have just bought a VS Commodore Equipe sedan and the key blade is loose in the head. Is there any way of tightening it up so it is firm? I have tried tightening the screws but it wasn't successful. Also, can the battery be replaced or would I have to buy a complete new head?
Thanks,
Rossco

easy fix mate, take the key piece out of the head and rub the end thats goes in the head with some emery clothboth side just a light rub reassemble, works 9/10 times

VZ SV6

2005 VZ SV6
Reaction score
Members Ride
VZ SV6 190kw & VZ Acclaim
I've had to completely replace at least two of my VZ keys, due to flat battery or some other malfunction. I have been told that the VZ tri-button keys cannot have the battery changed, as they are hardwired into the head unit. This has costed me $139 each time for a completely new key. Does this sound right?