Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

Fuel economy problem

SJM38S

Reaction score
Members Ride
2001 VX Calais L67
Around town, a sports exhaust will often give you worse economy.
Our vx v6 auto was averaging 17L/100km, with enclosed pod, 2.5" red-back exhaust, and 20" rims. That was driven by my other half who I generally have to coax to get her through an intersection - certainly not a lead foot.
And I'm a holden mechanic, the thing was over serviced and maintained (if there is such a thing). All new sensors and gaskets...

st3r3otyp3

Donating Member
Reaction score
Members Ride
VX HSV VX SS
This just goes to show that the intake exhaust and tune helps economy myth is a load of wank the car will always chew more after, my auto clubby dead stock got down to 8.8/100 on the highway and now it bearly gets under 11.

FATMOE

Reaction score
Members Ride
VY Clubsport R8
Yeah it does help the economy, higher flowing exhaust system will and depending how good of a tuner your using, you will see a 1.5L difference.

It's just the driver that's causing the high fuel consumption. Too excited about the new exhaust sound makes their right foot heavier.

yxyx64

Reaction score
Members Ride
Kia turbo + Holden badge, Chev badge in Texas
never mind...goodluck

Last edited:

FATMOE

Reaction score
Members Ride
VY Clubsport R8
Around town, a sports exhaust will often give you worse economy.
Our vx v6 auto was averaging 17L/100km, with enclosed pod, 2.5" red-back exhaust, and 20" rims. That was driven by my other half who I generally have to coax to get her through an intersection - certainly not a lead foot.
And I'm a holden mechanic, the thing was over serviced and maintained (if there is such a thing). All new sensors and gaskets...