Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

[VT-VX] How To Increase Alternator Output Voltage

Jolls

Donating Member
Reaction score
Members Ride
VY SS Ute (Jimi Hendrix)
I told you. If you have a 65amp alt @12v compare that to a 65amp alt @13v the 13v one has more wattage.
I don't know how much more you want me to explain.
I'm not as articulate as both of them as I'm a mechanic I didn't go on through school. So you get my raw words.

In simple terms yes; to a point. I have no\t argued against this. But we aren't discussing the output is within a limited range. The current carrying capability of the windings, the ability to create a field capable of generating the voltage, hysterisis and a number of other physical issues limit output.

If it was as simple as you indicate power generation across the country would be simple. If it was as you say why would we produce higher rated alternators? We wouldn't, we would just keep increasing the voltage to produce more power. Let me put it in mechanics terms. If I was to continue to add more fuel to the engine it will go faster without limitation. Is this true? No. So why do you think an alternator or electrical system is any different.

I'm not saying the mod wont do as @immortality has indicated. I just didn't understand the why. Now that I understand the why I can make an informed decisioin on its utility.

shane_3800

Reaction score
Members Ride
vr commo
In simple terms yes; to a point. I have no\t argued against this. But we aren't discussing the output is within a limited range. The current carrying capability of the windings, the ability to create a field capable of generating the voltage, hysterisis and a number of other physical issues limit output.