Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

A\C noise- bad compressor?

ozsmoka

Reaction score
Members Ride
VS Berlina 5 litre (97)
Hey all

Im no expert on aircon by any means but I put a new belt on my '95model vs commodore [v8] compressor about a month ago, and everything was going fine. Then a few days ago I started getting a squeal like a banshee, as if the belt were loose.

The screeching occurs under load [whilst accelerating] and then is quiet again. The ac still seems cool. When I turn the ac off, the same squealing stops. It does seem the noise gets loudest when the ac is on and I set it to its highest fan speed 3. But I can run the fan by itself on 3 with no probs :s

In the process of adjusting the belt I got some degreaser on the belt, could this effect my tests?

I have put the car up and looked at the compressor and everything is turning ok at idle, but being only one of me, I havent been able to look at it under acceleration.

Could this be indicative of a buggered compressor [god forbid :0 ] or could it just be the belt?

After seeing the price of a new compressor, Im praying it could be anything but that :( Are there any tests I can do that could indicate further?

thanks in advance Oz

ozsmoka

Reaction score
Members Ride
VS Berlina 5 litre (97)
sorry guys I was in a hurry and didnt realise the aircon sticky was still active- sorry. Feel free to move this to the sticky..

hako

Donating Member
Reaction score
Members Ride
VS11 BT1 V6