Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

Anderson Plug?

Discussion in 'Car Audio' started by Kitsune, Jun 14, 2017.

  1. Kitsune

    Kitsune New Member

    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2017
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Members Ride:
    VX Commodore 2002
    I have purchased a car with 0 gauge live wire dumped direct from battery with 100 amp fuse.

    However it is not connected to anything, possibly was from a failed attempt to put a amp in or was from the previous owner having an amp inside.

    I have a LPG tank in the back, with my boot being the choice of placement of both wires (live and ground) and uncapped I was thinking of putting an Anderson plug at the end and capping it off, that way if I choose to have an amplifier or other sources including spare battery my choices can magnify.

    Or should I just twist on some 0 gauge wire caps from Jaycar and deal with it another day, right now... it's currently taped up with masking tape and with the amount of moisture in back it's only a matter of time sparks will fly.
     
  2. ephect

    ephect Donating Member

    Messages:
    4,840
    Likes Received:
    1,083
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2006
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Members Ride:
    VS Acclaim V6
    I guess it comes down to cost, caps vs Anderson plug. Either will suffice.
     
  3. Bigfella237

    Bigfella237 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    428
    Likes Received:
    387
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2015
    Location:
    Far South Coast of NSW
    Members Ride:
    More cars than I've got space to park!
    As you say, the Anderson plug gives you flexibility.

    If you ever get a car fridge (Engel for example) you've got power in the boot to run it. If planning to run the stereo or lights all day you could connect a second temporary battery in the boot (although you'd need to be careful that the starter didn't draw from this battery depending on the wiring). Or maybe run an inverter for 240v mains power? Or connect solar cells to trickle-charge the main battery. Or a hundred and one other uses!

    Andrew
     
  4. stockies

    stockies Bannana

    Messages:
    1,011
    Likes Received:
    49
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Location:
    S/E Suburbs
    Members Ride:
    G6E Turbo
    What type of fuse is the 100amp?
    is it a circuit breaker with a red "flag" on it? ie: if you push the red part on top, another red part pops out from the side?

    If this is the case, and it is a manual reset 100amp circuit breaker, just press the red button to make the "flag" come out and leave until you decide what to do with the other end.
     
    ephect likes this.
  5. VR38

    VR38 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    3,076
    Likes Received:
    27
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Members Ride:
    VB SL/E
    Electrical tape?
    Make it redundant at the battery?
    Both cheap and easy options.
     
    Tonner Matt likes this.
  6. justice4all3000

    justice4all3000 Member

    Messages:
    288
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2007
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Members Ride:
    VF Calais V
    plug and play :)
     

    Attached Files:

    • plug.jpg
      plug.jpg
      File size:
      119.4 KB
      Views:
      61
    strgas likes this.

Share This Page