Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

Cloned tech 2 scan tool

Discussion in 'VZ Holden Commodore (2004 - 2006)' started by DavosVZ, Jan 6, 2020.

  1. DavosVZ

    DavosVZ New Member

    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2014
    Location:
    Victoria
    Members Ride:
    2005 VZ One Tonner
    Hey everyone can anyone please point me in the right direction to getting hold of a tech 2 scan tool (cloned). Tired of flying blind with this car! Have seen some older posts to do with needing the Aussie data card to use with it! Any help most appreciated! Cheers Paul
     
  2. Tonner Matt

    Tonner Matt Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,705
    Likes Received:
    1,486
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Joined:
    May 12, 2014
    Location:
    Darwin
    Members Ride:
    VZ 1 Tonner LS1 M6
    Last edited: Jan 6, 2020
    Smitty likes this.
  3. Daniel Souza

    Daniel Souza Active Member

    Messages:
    182
    Likes Received:
    105
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2017
    Location:
    Glenwood
    Members Ride:
    VF2 Wagon SSV Redline
    Have a look at the scan tool in this video.

    It emulates the tech2 via software .


     
    VT2Commie, Skylarking and lmoengnr like this.
  4. rambunctious

    rambunctious Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,387
    Likes Received:
    246
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2011
    Location:
    Mooloolaba
    Members Ride:
    VZ Wagon
    I bought a scanner from Aldi for $50 about a year ago.
    Works on my VZ 07 and also on a friends Mazda 2 built 2010.
    It was on special at the time, although I do see similar items on special at Repco from time to time.
     
  5. mechanic

    mechanic Member

    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2018
    Location:
    Australia
    Members Ride:
    Commodore
    The benefit of a Tech2 is that it will be able to communicate with all other control units like ABS, SRS, BCM etc (often called enhanced data).

    A cheap ebay, Repco or Aldi tool will only communicate with the engine. It also won't work on any vehicle that isn't OBD2 compliant.
    This might be ok for you, but I know which I'd prefer.
     
    Fu Manchu likes this.
  6. lmoengnr

    lmoengnr Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,581
    Likes Received:
    1,422
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2012
    Location:
    Sunbury Vic.
    Members Ride:
    MY12.5 Maloo R8, MY12 Redline ute, Magnum 224
    I think Envyous Customs was working with one of these?
     
  7. Fu Manchu

    Fu Manchu Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,614
    Likes Received:
    1,021
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2006
    Location:
    WA
    Members Ride:
    VZ V6
    Using scan tools is still flying blind. The Tech2 is what the cars system is built for. It isn’t just a code reader.

    It gets into every nook and cranny of the cars network and finds stuff no one can.

    It operates isolated components such as individual injectors, sensor data and tests, Individual HVAC actuators, fuel pump etc with out the car running.
     
  8. dgp

    dgp Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,431
    Likes Received:
    517
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2011
    Location:
    Victoria
    Members Ride:
    VF II SSV Redline
    I bought a cloned TechII from AliExpress a few years ago. It worked perfectly well on my VZ Clubsport. From memory, the card in the device was software version 32? This is the blurb from the ad.

    2015-DHL-free-GM-TECH2-diagnostic-tool-GM-OPEL-SAAB-ISUZU-SUZUKI-HOLDEN-Vetronix-gm-tech/891987335

    I sold it to another member here when I bought my VF’s.
    I checked my old purchase link but it is no longer available from that seller.
     
  9. Fu Manchu

    Fu Manchu Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,614
    Likes Received:
    1,021
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2006
    Location:
    WA
    Members Ride:
    VZ V6
    Is the Tech 2 not tool of choice for VF as well?
     
  10. lmoengnr

    lmoengnr Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,581
    Likes Received:
    1,422
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2012
    Location:
    Sunbury Vic.
    Members Ride:
    MY12.5 Maloo R8, MY12 Redline ute, Magnum 224
    It doesn't work with VF, need a GDS2 tool like in post #3, which will emulate a Tech 2 on a lap top.
     
  11. dgp

    dgp Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,431
    Likes Received:
    517
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2011
    Location:
    Victoria
    Members Ride:
    VF II SSV Redline
    yep, Imoenger is correct. I purchased EFI Live for my Redline. Can mess with tunes and did in to clear codes or view live data.
     
  12. Fu Manchu

    Fu Manchu Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,614
    Likes Received:
    1,021
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2006
    Location:
    WA
    Members Ride:
    VZ V6
    Does it do the other functions as well?
     
  13. lmoengnr

    lmoengnr Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,581
    Likes Received:
    1,422
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2012
    Location:
    Sunbury Vic.
    Members Ride:
    MY12.5 Maloo R8, MY12 Redline ute, Magnum 224
    Does everything a Tech 2 can do, plus 2013 onwards GM vehicles.
     
    Fu Manchu likes this.
  14. scaredyet

    scaredyet Active Member

    Messages:
    216
    Likes Received:
    46
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2016
    Location:
    Mosman
    Members Ride:
    Holden VZ Lumina Wagon
    I'd be interested in a tech 2 as well for my VZ. Don't want to pay more than $50
     
    Last edited: Jan 9, 2020
  15. lmoengnr

    lmoengnr Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,581
    Likes Received:
    1,422
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2012
    Location:
    Sunbury Vic.
    Members Ride:
    MY12.5 Maloo R8, MY12 Redline ute, Magnum 224
    Good luck with that...
     
    Fu Manchu, scaredyet and Tonner Matt like this.
  16. Fu Manchu

    Fu Manchu Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,614
    Likes Received:
    1,021
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2006
    Location:
    WA
    Members Ride:
    VZ V6
    Can’t even pick up a set of jousting sticks for anything less than $80. Tell him he’s dreaming.
     
    Last edited: Jan 10, 2020
    Skylarking and Tonner Matt like this.
  17. dans_vz

    dans_vz Active Member

    Messages:
    904
    Likes Received:
    82
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2006
    Location:
    Albury
    Members Ride:
    MY16 VFII SSV Redline Manual & 05 VZ Calais daily
    Did you forget to put a 0 on the end of that 50?
     
    Lex and lmoengnr like this.
  18. bcw61

    bcw61 Member

    Messages:
    349
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2009
    Location:
    Northern suburbs of Adelaide
    Members Ride:
    VZ 2005 Executive Wagon
    I would suggest an extra two '0s' on the end of the 50, if you are referring to a genuine Bosch Tech2 unit.
     
  19. lmoengnr

    lmoengnr Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,581
    Likes Received:
    1,422
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2012
    Location:
    Sunbury Vic.
    Members Ride:
    MY12.5 Maloo R8, MY12 Redline ute, Magnum 224
    The genuine units have been devalued by being able to run Tech2Win on a laptop through a VX Nano or MDI interface for pre 2013 GM vehicles.
     
    VECalaisV8Wagon likes this.
  20. Fu Manchu

    Fu Manchu Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,614
    Likes Received:
    1,021
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2006
    Location:
    WA
    Members Ride:
    VZ V6
    Hey, who is using the Autel? Is it @krusing? (I think?)
     

Share This Page