Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

New Posts Contact us

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

Cloned tech 2 scan tool

DavosVZ

New Member
Joined
Jun 26, 2014
Messages
1
Reaction score
0
Points
1
Location
Victoria
Members Ride
2005 VZ One Tonner
Hey everyone can anyone please point me in the right direction to getting hold of a tech 2 scan tool (cloned). Tired of flying blind with this car! Have seen some older posts to do with needing the Aussie data card to use with it! Any help most appreciated! Cheers Paul
 

Daniel Souza

Active Member
Joined
Jan 7, 2017
Messages
189
Reaction score
108
Points
43
Age
43
Location
Glenwood
Members Ride
VF2 Wagon SSV Redline
Have a look at the scan tool in this video.

It emulates the tech2 via software .


 

rambunctious

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jun 9, 2011
Messages
1,665
Reaction score
464
Points
83
Location
Mooloolaba
Members Ride
VZ Wagon
I bought a scanner from Aldi for $50 about a year ago.
Works on my VZ 07 and also on a friends Mazda 2 built 2010.
It was on special at the time, although I do see similar items on special at Repco from time to time.
 

mechanic

Active Member
Joined
Aug 27, 2018
Messages
277
Reaction score
131
Points
43
Location
Australia
Members Ride
Commodore
The benefit of a Tech2 is that it will be able to communicate with all other control units like ABS, SRS, BCM etc (often called enhanced data).

A cheap ebay, Repco or Aldi tool will only communicate with the engine. It also won't work on any vehicle that isn't OBD2 compliant.
This might be ok for you, but I know which I'd prefer.
 

Fu Manchu

Well-Known Member
Joined
Mar 18, 2006
Messages
5,679
Reaction score
3,108
Points
113
Location
WA.
Members Ride
Slug powered VZ, Cross 8 VZ, VE Calais & ya mum.
Using scan tools is still flying blind. The Tech2 is what the cars system is built for. It isn’t just a code reader.

It gets into every nook and cranny of the cars network and finds stuff no one can.

It operates isolated components such as individual injectors, sensor data and tests, Individual HVAC actuators, fuel pump etc with out the car running.
 

dgp

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 1, 2011
Messages
1,455
Reaction score
541
Points
113
Location
Victoria
Members Ride
VF II SSV Redline
I bought a cloned TechII from AliExpress a few years ago. It worked perfectly well on my VZ Clubsport. From memory, the card in the device was software version 32? This is the blurb from the ad.
https://www.aliexpress.com/item/201...335.html?spm=a2g0s.9042311.0.0.3aaf4c4d1FTvJj
2015-DHL-free-GM-TECH2-diagnostic-tool-GM-OPEL-SAAB-ISUZU-SUZUKI-HOLDEN-Vetronix-gm-tech/891987335

I sold it to another member here when I bought my VF’s.
I checked my old purchase link but it is no longer available from that seller.
 

Fu Manchu

Well-Known Member
Joined
Mar 18, 2006
Messages
5,679
Reaction score
3,108
Points
113
Location
WA.
Members Ride
Slug powered VZ, Cross 8 VZ, VE Calais & ya mum.
Is the Tech 2 not tool of choice for VF as well?
 

lmoengnr

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 15, 2012
Messages
3,738
Reaction score
4,261
Points
113
Location
Sunbury Vic.
Members Ride
MY12.5 Maloo R8, MY12 Redline ute, Magnum 224
Is the Tech 2 not tool of choice for VF as well?
It doesn't work with VF, need a GDS2 tool like in post #3, which will emulate a Tech 2 on a lap top.
 
Top