Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

Converted VS V6 to VS 5Ltr

VB SLE

Reaction score
Members Ride
VB SLE Commodore/VS 5LTR/VZ Clubsport
Hi all,
I bought a VS 5Ltr about a month ago and I really want to get it on the road. The thing is it is still registered as a v6. Now everything in the car works and it runs and drives. I know I have to upgrade the suspension and the brakes and most probably engine mounts to get the car through regency to get a roadworthy certificate. Is there any other upgrades I need to make before going through to get the car road legal?

Any help would be appreciated! Thanks

VB SLE

Reaction score
Members Ride
VB SLE Commodore/VS 5LTR/VZ Clubsport
Just swap everything attached to the k frame
haha you make it sound easy! im no mechanic but i just wanted to know what is required to get it road legal!

_R_J_K_

Reaction score
Members Ride
Zenki S14
Brakes are the same V6 to V8.

EYY

Reaction score
Members Ride
VS Statesman
Front springs are the only suspension difference. Brakes are the same.

Edit. I thought you were talking about doing a conversion. My mistake.

Wozza

Reaction score
Members Ride
VR_GS commodore
If your location in your profile is still current you dont need to go to regency...Also Ive heard so long as the car is still regoed and v8 is from the same series as the v6... You just need to go to rego department with the engine numbers and vin number and tell em, they will change info to suit and charge you the extra for the upgrade...Thats what Ive been told nfi if its correct,so talk to the local rego place first

Sean880

Reaction score
Members Ride
2012 VE SV6 ser 2 and 911 Porsche Carrera S 997
https://www.sa.gov.au/topics/driving-and-transport/vehicles/vehicle-standards-and-modifications

Go to "Engine and Exhaust Modifications"