Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

New Posts Contact us

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

ECU scantool and airbag light VT commodore

johnandles

New Member
Joined
Apr 1, 2009
Messages
4
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Members Ride
vt
Noob question..can the diy scantool erase the airbag light? if not what can?
Thanks Johnno
 

johnandles

New Member
Joined
Apr 1, 2009
Messages
4
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Members Ride
vt
Iv'e anwered my on question..

Thanks for all the replies but..doin' a search revealed all.
Too bad the DIY scantool hasn't software available to probe further into the 'other' areas of interest! ..(imagine a home built Tech 2?)
Johnno
 

HARVZ-6

New Member
Joined
Nov 2, 2008
Messages
826
Reaction score
2
Points
0
Age
29
Location
Riverton sa
Members Ride
VT spac super6
just need to be able to access body control section..

mine had the same thing.. was a pretensioner the whole time
 

mlinton74

New Member
Joined
Oct 9, 2010
Messages
8
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Location
Kallangur, Brisbane, Australia
Members Ride
VT Commodore Berlina Ser2 Wagon
I just replaced the drivers side pretensioner in my 1999 VT Commodore last week at $170.00 . I had the code cleared, the light stayed off for about 4 days before re-appearing again. Anyone had similar experiences....or know what to look for??? This is turning into an expensive expedition!!!
 

Staggie

New Member
Joined
Jul 15, 2005
Messages
132
Reaction score
1
Points
0
Location
Adelaide
Members Ride
VT Calais S1, VK Wagon EFI 5.0L
could be the clock spring, had exactly the same thing happen on my vt calais, ended up being the clock spring and hit the dead spot in a shopping centre car park.
 

db_notso

diagnostic technician...
Joined
Oct 2, 2010
Messages
979
Reaction score
7
Points
0
Age
34
Location
sunshine coast, qld
Members Ride
vt v6, mods(susp brakesetc...)
if air bag light on you need to get the code for why then fix that circuit
either get holden to pul;l code and replace part then return to turn off light
OR
go to a workshop with an (expensive) scantool as they can access all modules too
REMEBER NEVER USE A MULTIMETER ON AN AIRBAG CIRCUIT
:bomb:
 
Last edited:

moose man

New Member
Joined
Nov 9, 2009
Messages
226
Reaction score
1
Points
0
Members Ride
VXII
Rubbish. A multimeter of the correct type is perfectly safe to use on an SRS circuit.
 

91luxy

New Member
Joined
Nov 19, 2010
Messages
107
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Location
brisbane
Members Ride
vs v6 commodore&vs v6 91 hilux 4x4
the same thing happen on my vt 2 days ago i turned into a servo and when turning the wheel theb keys made a crunching sound or somthing there did and then the airbag light still dont know
 

svill123

New Member
Joined
Jan 27, 2012
Messages
7
Reaction score
2
Points
0
Location
Melbourne
Members Ride
VT Berlina S1 V6
exact same thing here, i turned into a survo and the light went on. I got a VT berlina had the code checked. - "31 - Drivers Airbag Open Circuit (Capacitance Too Low) - Something tells me it could be the clock spring.
 

accentstencil

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jun 30, 2005
Messages
8,235
Reaction score
430
Points
83
Age
68
Location
Eschol Park, Sydney
Members Ride
WH II Caprice, 5.7 2018 Equinox LTZ V
exact same thing here, i turned into a survo and the light went on. I got a VT berlina had the code checked. - "31 - Drivers Airbag Open Circuit (Capacitance Too Low) - Something tells me it could be the clock spring.
Mine also came on when turning sharply so I assumed it was the clock spring and it was but I'm sure the code I got was 21, but that doesn't mean that 31 isn't related to the clock spring also.
 
Top