Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

Front struts in a VXII Exec

gogoboygareth

Reaction score
Members Ride
VXII Commodore Exec
Hi all,

My '02 Exec has finally passed the 100 thou' km mark. The car's been getting a bit bouncy lately, so I knew I was in need of new shocks.

We found the rear shocks were leaking badly, so I replaced them on the spot (Monroe GT Gas).

The front is still very soft, but they said it was "OK" for now - but I'd like to get it sorted soon since the inner part of my front tyres is wearing quicker than the rest.

I asked for a quote for the front to be done - $420! I figured that was a bit excessive, so I'd like to know what I should be paying.

I'm not that good with cars - so no idea what I need. I figured it was just shocks, but they mentioned I needed new struts - I'm guessing that's all that is replaced?

I've seen them for sale new on Ebay, so I'm thinking of buying a pair and getting an experienced mechanic to fit them?

What should I be doing to get the best value?

Spyper

Reaction score
Members Ride
VX II Acclaim
I've been under the impression that front struts are just shocks.. can someone clarify the diff for me please? =/

gogoboygareth

Reaction score
Members Ride
VXII Commodore Exec
From what I can gather - I'm thinking that too (the struts *are* the front shocks).... but surely $400 is a bit much just for the front.

I remember getting my entire old Skyline done (front + rear shocks) for $400... so I think this place is just trying to rip me off.

spikeu

Reaction score
Members Ride
VX2
thats not a bad price, as the front struts on a vx are full strut legs and not inserts