Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

Fuse box

Discussion in 'VR - VS Holden Commodore (1993 - 1997)' started by Phillbert, Mar 12, 2020.

  1. Phillbert

    Phillbert Active Member

    Messages:
    371
    Likes Received:
    240
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2016
    Location:
    Gold Coast
    Members Ride:
    VZ SV6, VS L67 Ute, VS Statesman
    Hey guys the fuse box under the bonnet
    Can it be changed or is it hard wired to the loom?
    The bottom part of mine has been broken and want to replace it, top cover is fine.

    20200312_151032.jpg
     
  2. vs-lover

    vs-lover Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,795
    Likes Received:
    1,004
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2013
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Members Ride:
    VS S2 Calais, VS S2 Exec Wagon, VS S2 Acclaim
    Yes it can be done if you are good at pushing non reversible connectors out without damaging them. It's a very tedious job indeed.

    If you are able to repair it using Loctite 401, it would be much more feasible I'd say.
     
  3. Phillbert

    Phillbert Active Member

    Messages:
    371
    Likes Received:
    240
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2016
    Location:
    Gold Coast
    Members Ride:
    VZ SV6, VS L67 Ute, VS Statesman
    Thanks for the reply, yeah i figured it was a pain to do but looking for a glimmer of hope rather than glue
     
  4. Utel67

    Utel67 Active Member

    Messages:
    247
    Likes Received:
    97
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2019
    Location:
    Tasmania
    Members Ride:
    Vs s3 ute
    It's a piece of piss , 20 minutes tops.
     
    Last edited: Mar 12, 2020
  5. losh1971

    losh1971 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    7,816
    Likes Received:
    2,499
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Location:
    North Tas
    Members Ride:
    VR Ute V6
    Pretty sure it's just a matter of undoing the fuses, which have wires that bolt on and then unscrewing the cracked panel and replacing it. The relays push off the long plastic holder easy enough. I replaced mine and I never had to unclip the one way cable lugs.
     
  6. vs-lover

    vs-lover Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,795
    Likes Received:
    1,004
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2013
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Members Ride:
    VS S2 Calais, VS S2 Exec Wagon, VS S2 Acclaim
    I guess I wasn't fully comprehending what the damage was in this instance. If it's just the mounts themselves then it's not that much of an issue and can be done easily as suggested above without wiring disassembly having to be done. Sorry for any confusion.
     
  7. Phillbert

    Phillbert Active Member

    Messages:
    371
    Likes Received:
    240
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2016
    Location:
    Gold Coast
    Members Ride:
    VZ SV6, VS L67 Ute, VS Statesman
    I just went down and had a further inspection and yes, it's just a cover plate at the front of fuses. I thought it was a whole unit that needed replacing. 3 mins to get the old one off, 2 screws and a bit of a wiggle.
     

Share This Page