Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

New Posts Contact us

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

Gear sets for that "Launch" 3.73

HIROLLA

Member
Joined
Feb 24, 2006
Messages
741
Reaction score
1
Points
18
Location
vic
Members Ride
VS SIII CAPRICE
Thanks for your reply mate

Ill be going to Diff Technics 2moro and will ask them about the gear sets.

Im also going for a Stage II Shift kit but dont know maybe if i should get the Stage III instead.

Thanks
 

1991_Vn2nV

New Member
Joined
Mar 9, 2006
Messages
8,718
Reaction score
67
Points
0
Age
33
Location
Gumeracha, Adelaide Hills
Members Ride
91 VN Berlina & 03 VY Berlina
Stage 2 and 3 is the same, except Stage 3 is fully manualised :yeah:

If your car isnt really a daily driver... 3.9's or 4.11's would be better for the 1/4 mile etc. :thumbsup:

Good luck with it man, let us kno how it goes tomorrow.
 

HIROLLA

Member
Joined
Feb 24, 2006
Messages
741
Reaction score
1
Points
18
Location
vic
Members Ride
VS SIII CAPRICE
Fully manualised hmmm (thinks long and hard lol) a manual without clutch... Would that put more stress on the gearbox than if it was a Stage 2 Auto?

It is a daily driver so yea dont want anything too slow top end wise ;)

Ill ask about the 3.73 and the 3.9s ($460)

Thanks mate :)
 

1991_Vn2nV

New Member
Joined
Mar 9, 2006
Messages
8,718
Reaction score
67
Points
0
Age
33
Location
Gumeracha, Adelaide Hills
Members Ride
91 VN Berlina & 03 VY Berlina
I reckon it might just put stress on the selector. My mate always changed manually with his auto VL and he had several problems with not being able to put it into Park. Or the gear shift sliding up and down but not changing gears etc.... Worth asking about when you enquire into the shift kit... Something I never thought about hehe :bow:
 

HIROLLA

Member
Joined
Feb 24, 2006
Messages
741
Reaction score
1
Points
18
Location
vic
Members Ride
VS SIII CAPRICE
Fiar enough yea i would think it would put extra stress on it but what do i know hehe will ask around aswell but ill prob just settle for a Stage 2.
 

sircruisealotVS

Well-Known Member
Joined
Dec 1, 2005
Messages
2,934
Reaction score
50
Points
48
Age
36
Location
South Brisbane
Members Ride
VZ LS1 Calais
i dont know if you still have the stock converter, but a hi-stall converter set to 200rpm before your max torque will help you take off.
 

HIROLLA

Member
Joined
Feb 24, 2006
Messages
741
Reaction score
1
Points
18
Location
vic
Members Ride
VS SIII CAPRICE
Yea i still have the stock convertor. When it comes to convertors im lost i have no clue. What do i need exactly?
 

sircruisealotVS

Well-Known Member
Joined
Dec 1, 2005
Messages
2,934
Reaction score
50
Points
48
Age
36
Location
South Brisbane
Members Ride
VZ LS1 Calais
VSRUMBLE said:
Yea i still have the stock convertor. When it comes to convertors im lost i have no clue. What do i need exactly?
well, it helps if you have a dyno sheet to see where your torque peak is, the optimal point for the stallie is 200rpm before the peak.
without a dyno sheet id say around a 2000-2200rpm hi-stall would be the go.
 
Top