Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

HID XENON Conversion

tja_bot

Reaction score
Members Ride
VZ LS1 Calais A4
Has anyone done HID XENON Conversion on their commodore? I have VZ SS headlights and am thinking of doing a conversion.

I don't know much of whats involved in doing a conversion. Any advice would be welcome:thumbsup:

thanks Troy

BANKS

DW I'm a Spray Painter!
Reaction score
Members Ride
VZ SSZ Ute
im interested in doing this aswell ay. from what ive researched the number for eg. 5000k is the temperature the light burns at? which determines the colour? 8000k will be more blue then a 5000k which is whiter.

Cant tell if the ones on egay are any good...probably not... but we can all just pretend

1991_Vn2nV

Reaction score
Members Ride
91 VN Berlina & 03 VY Berlina
im interested in doing this aswell ay. from what ive researched the number for eg. 5000k is the temperature the light burns at? which determines the colour? 8000k will be more blue then a 5000k which is whiter.

Cant tell if the ones on egay are any good...probably not... but we can all just pretend

Higher the K the higher the colour temperature. It starts off Yellow and works up to White, Blue, Purple, Violet etc. with variations between the colours. 4000k (white) up to like 10 or 12000k on Ebay.

The higher the K though, the LOWER the lumens (brightness). So the higher in k you go the less bright the light.

Also, there are only 2 german made kits (Phillips and another) and they are the ONLY brands used by ANY OEM car manufacturer.

Ebay brands, well non german brands, have been shown to only last an average of 176 hours for the globe, where as the german brands last around 2500-2700 hours. There is a BIG difference in quality.