Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

How can I buy a VZ Commodore ECU from Brazil.

Discussion in 'VZ Holden Commodore (2004 - 2006)' started by augusto araujo, Jun 19, 2019.

  1. augusto araujo

    augusto araujo New Member

    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2018
    Location:
    São Paulo - Brazil
    Members Ride:
    Commodore VZ 2005
    Hi Dears,

    I have a Holdem Commodore VZ 2005 3.6 here in Brazil. I cannot find one ECU to replace my.

    I have a friend that lives in Sidney and he could ship it to me.

    The SN is 92179449. I'll upload a file.

    Please I need help from this community.

    Thanks,

    Augusto WhatsApp Image 2019-06-13 at 14.03.03(1).jpeg WhatsApp Image 2019-06-13 at 14.03.03.jpeg
     
  2. Fu Manchu

    Fu Manchu Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,892
    Likes Received:
    1,196
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2006
    Location:
    WA
    Members Ride:
    Slug powered VZ, a VE Calais & your mum.
    1. Go to eBay and buy a used computer set and get it sent to Brazil. (ECU, BCM, PIM and matching key fob).
    Maybe contact seller and ask if they would consider sending to Brazil.
    Find one with the same set up as yours. (Sedan, v6, equivalent model spec such as exec, sv6) Swap the computers over.
    Car should work fine without any programming.

    2. Get in touch with some of the ECU repair places.
    Here’s one: http://www.injectronics.com.au/

    I’m sure they would send to Brazil. Pay via PayPal.
     
  3. augusto araujo

    augusto araujo New Member

    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2018
    Location:
    São Paulo - Brazil
    Members Ride:
    Commodore VZ 2005
    Hi Dear Fu Manchu,

    Thanks a lot for the URL. I searched before for a long time but could not find a good site like this.

    Best regards,

    Augusto
     
  4. augusto araujo

    augusto araujo New Member

    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2018
    Location:
    São Paulo - Brazil
    Members Ride:
    Commodore VZ 2005
    Hi Dear,

    I just called by phone the injectronics but they do not have any model that can fit my car. He said that I could find in internet but I think due my localization I could find just the ecumanm.com.au and they don't have also.

    Would you please advice me another store across Australia that might have it. The 92179449 seems to be very rare.

    Thanks again!

    Augusto
     
  5. augusto araujo

    augusto araujo New Member

    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2018
    Location:
    São Paulo - Brazil
    Members Ride:
    Commodore VZ 2005
    Hi,

    Finally I found in a company that I got the phone with a Holden dealer.

    Thanks a lot,

    Augusto
     
  6. Fu Manchu

    Fu Manchu Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,892
    Likes Received:
    1,196
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2006
    Location:
    WA
    Members Ride:
    Slug powered VZ, a VE Calais & your mum.
    Great news.
    Heaps of our cars cruising Brazilian streets. Thanks for joining us.
     
  7. Marcio

    Marcio New Member

    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2012
    Location:
    Brasil
    Members Ride:
    VZ 3.6
    Augusto, I need the same computer, 92179449, where did you find it, please?
    I'm from santa catarina!
    Marcio
     
  8. delcowizzid

    delcowizzid on holiday

    Messages:
    6,893
    Likes Received:
    367
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Location:
    NZ
    Members Ride:
    в∞ѕтεכ √&
    Guy with the username Tazzi on here might be able to help
     
  9. DavesSV6Tonner

    DavesSV6Tonner Active Member

    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    66
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2019
    Location:
    Australia
    Members Ride:
    VZ S V6 Cab & Chassis
    I might be wrong but my understanding of ECU's refurbished by Injectronics is that they program the ECU to suit your vehicle, all they need is your VIN number. The Part number on the refurbished ECU becomes irrelevant. It is up to the installer to link the refurbished ECU to the PIM and the BCM in the vehicle.
     
  10. Fu Manchu

    Fu Manchu Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,892
    Likes Received:
    1,196
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2006
    Location:
    WA
    Members Ride:
    Slug powered VZ, a VE Calais & your mum.
    This might help clarify things
     
  11. Marcio

    Marcio New Member

    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2012
    Location:
    Brasil
    Members Ride:
    VZ 3.6
    wow, thanks a million you all! I like it. Your information may help!
    Despite that, I still need to find a new ECU. My plan is first looking into second hand spare parks around my place, and if I'm not lucky, with these companies in Australia.
    Augusto car is the same as mine for sure.
     
  12. DavesSV6Tonner

    DavesSV6Tonner Active Member

    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    66
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2019
    Location:
    Australia
    Members Ride:
    VZ S V6 Cab & Chassis
    From Wikipedia

    Chevrolet Omega - Brazil
    GM announced a final update of Omega B on 9 March 2005, now based on the Holden VZ series,[15] powered by the new 3.6-liter Alloytec V6 engine. It was again sold in a single "CD" specification-specification CD model, this time based on the VZ Berlina with some extra equipment from the VZ Calais.[16][17] Sales ended in 2007 with the arrival of the new Omega C.

    In a recent search I found our WL Statesman 3.6 V6 also uses ECU part number 92179449

    Marcio
    I believe this is a brand new ECU and would need to be fully programmed to suit your car by your local Chevrolet Dealer.
    https://www.speedspares.net/12600940_p/12600940.htm

    Double check it is suitable for your vehicle before purchase.
     
  13. Marcio

    Marcio New Member

    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2012
    Location:
    Brasil
    Members Ride:
    VZ 3.6
  14. Marcio

    Marcio New Member

    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2012
    Location:
    Brasil
    Members Ride:
    VZ 3.6
    So frustrating, I couldn't manage to get this ECU yet :(

    Lads, does someone know if I can get from other cars and reprogram? I can find from Cadillac more easy in the USA. They use the same engine, the ECU is physically the same from Bosch with the same connectors, just the number is different.

    Like these numbers below are from other car models but the ECU has the same shape and connectors:
    • 12585814
    • 12590358
    • 12592002
    • 12593783
    • 12595974
    • 12600940
    • 2612090184
    • 0261209022
    • 0261209024
    • 0261209025
    • 0261209031
    • 0261209060
    • 0261209062
    • 0261209064
    • 0261209063
    • 0261209184
    • 92175385
    • 92175386
    • 92179450
    • 92190063
    • 92193809
    If the answer is yes this could help many people in the same situation right
     
  15. DavesSV6Tonner

    DavesSV6Tonner Active Member

    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    66
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2019
    Location:
    Australia
    Members Ride:
    VZ S V6 Cab & Chassis
    Have you contacted your local Chevrolet Dealer to find out if they can program a new or refurbished ECU or reprogram a second hand ECU to suit your car? If they can do any or all of the above then the part number on the ECU should be irrelevant.
     
  16. Fu Manchu

    Fu Manchu Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,892
    Likes Received:
    1,196
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2006
    Location:
    WA
    Members Ride:
    Slug powered VZ, a VE Calais & your mum.
    New ECU’s are made in Mexico.

    Edit: I just re-read my own post in Ralph Wiggam’s voice.
     
    commodore665 likes this.
  17. ForestVt

    ForestVt New Member

    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Joined:
    May 16, 2009
    Location:
    Brazil
    Members Ride:
    VZ exp 3.6 05
    hello Marcio.

    I'm in Sorocaba and I face the same problem. I can send you a summary of the research I did. I have an Omega manufactured in February 2005.

    My ECU has these codes:
    Bosch Code: 0 261 209 025
    Service Code (GM / Holden): 12585814
    Search code: 92175385

    Most current replacement BOSCH units that I was able to identify at the time would be these:

    Required part: BOSCH code: 0 261 209 063
    Corresponding GM code: 19260510 (new part)
    alternative = 19260509 (part recovered from exchange - BOSCH Europe)

    Unfortunately, BOSCH (Brazil) does not forward the recovery of this type of unit - something done by visiting the customer's home in Europe !!.

    Anyway, even with the new (or refurbished) part in hand, we must go to the GM workshop to carry out the reconfiguration procedure (download the specific firmware of the vehicle) and also, perform the marriage between the three modules that must remain interrelated in the same vehicle (BCM, ECM and PIM)

    Good luck to you Marcio.

    Suggestion: See "diysv6" friend' posts in this tread..
    https://forums.justcommodores.com.a...t-straight-in-or-need-pim-to-match-up.236330/
     
    Marcio likes this.
  18. Marcio

    Marcio New Member

    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2012
    Location:
    Brasil
    Members Ride:
    VZ 3.6
    Thank you DavesSV6Tonner . I will try to do that.

    Thank you ForestVt . Interresting information. I will be digging it.
     

Share This Page