Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

New Posts Contact us

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

How do i perform an error code check?

vs_commy5506

New Member
Joined
Apr 19, 2009
Messages
61
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Members Ride
97 VS BT1 Commodore
People have been saying to perform an error code check if you think something is wrong with your car.....how do you dont that? dont you need a scan tool?
 

burnz

dah dut dut da dah
Joined
Jun 15, 2005
Messages
1,368
Reaction score
26
Points
38
Location
springfield
Members Ride
VFII SS ute M6
use a paperclip and bridge pin 5 and 6 , light the ignition (do not start) and read the codes, (themo fan runs if done properly)
code's blink 10's and 1's with a small pause (a larger pause indicates a new code) reapeting the 10's and 1's

Just Commodores - For All Your Holden Commodore Needs
 

Not_An_Abba_Fan

Exhaust Guru
Joined
Aug 18, 2006
Messages
14,298
Reaction score
823
Points
113
Location
Bunbury, WA
Members Ride
Strange Rover
Thermo fan doesn't run on the VS.

Each code will display three times starting with 12 and ending with 12.
 

Not_An_Abba_Fan

Exhaust Guru
Joined
Aug 18, 2006
Messages
14,298
Reaction score
823
Points
113
Location
Bunbury, WA
Members Ride
Strange Rover
Mine never did, and the two other VS's I have checked didn't either. The VN we have does though. All V6's though.
 

TUF UTE

Dave
Joined
Nov 9, 2008
Messages
700
Reaction score
3
Points
0
Age
32
Location
adelaide
Members Ride
05 VZ SENATOR
havent done much searching have we lol. theres about twenty threads on here that tell you how to do it

and yes on my 5L the thermo switches on when i do diagnostics
 

delcowizzid

on holiday
Joined
Jul 8, 2008
Messages
6,993
Reaction score
433
Points
83
Location
NZ
Members Ride
в∞ѕтεכ √&
yip V8 runs the MAP based ecu may make a difference to the fan ide say
 
Top