Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

idle jumping around.

Discussion in 'VR - VS Holden Commodore (1993 - 1997)' started by dlzn, Aug 3, 2006.

  1. dlzn

    dlzn New Member

    Messages:
    186
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2005
    Members Ride:
    VS Exec SII 3.8 V6
    The idle has been jumping around in my VS. (1996 exec V6)
    in neutral or park it stays normal for awhile then revs around 1-2g by itself, comes down then continutes to jump around.

    in drive it sits just over 1g.

    anyone know what part is messed up or any solutions?

    btw: I had a new MAF fitted not long ago, i rang up the place that fiitted it.
    They saud if it's faulty then all is good and i obviously dont pay. If its something else im up for all diagnostic costs and time.

    So id like to be sure before blowing money.

    thanks.
     
    Last edited: Aug 3, 2006
  2. holden007

    holden007 VRII

    Messages:
    1,104
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2003
    Members Ride:
    Subaru Liberty
    check IAC valve, located on the throttle body
     
  3. Scooter79

    Scooter79 New Member

    Messages:
    1,225
    Likes Received:
    29
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2005
    Location:
    South Coast, NSW
    Members Ride:
    VSII Calais supercharged
    could be the throttle position sensor. Do a fault code check.
     
  4. dlzn

    dlzn New Member

    Messages:
    186
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2005
    Members Ride:
    VS Exec SII 3.8 V6
    fault code came up as 12, normal.
     
  5. Scooter79

    Scooter79 New Member

    Messages:
    1,225
    Likes Received:
    29
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2005
    Location:
    South Coast, NSW
    Members Ride:
    VSII Calais supercharged
    Just be careful as fault codes flash 3 times each, then the next code. Similar thing happened with mine. When I checked the codes I got 12 over and over again then 19 started flashing.
     
  6. aa23

    aa23 Member

    Messages:
    254
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2004
    Location:
    Melb.
    Members Ride:
    VS Acclaim
  7. dlzn

    dlzn New Member

    Messages:
    186
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2005
    Members Ride:
    VS Exec SII 3.8 V6
    ive tried the resetting and it didnt work.

    drove it to a mates to get it checked out and what do ya know it doesnt do it again :S

    If it happens again ill try adjusting the sensors as i think one might be a lil faulty. That and restarting again.

    thanks guys, but guess ill have to wait till it happens again.
     

Share This Page