Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

New Posts Contact us

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

In car DVD that dosent need handbrake on!

mrvx2

New Member
Joined
May 4, 2009
Messages
69
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Location
West Sydney
Members Ride
VX II Calais
Hi all

Any one got an idea of any double din DVD decks that dont need the handbrake on to use the DVD function? Also with a sub output. I just bought a jvc kwavx710 and apparantly its has neither!
It was pretty cheap at $650 but i suppose thats y.

Any ideas?

Cheers Frank
 

daron

wizfiz
Joined
Mar 28, 2006
Messages
1,420
Reaction score
28
Points
48
Location
adelaide
Members Ride
VE SSV
put the green wire to earth for handbrake bypass
it does have sub out if ya read instructions it tells you what it has 1 set rcas out the back ya can use to go to amp to run a sub
 

mrvx2

New Member
Joined
May 4, 2009
Messages
69
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Location
West Sydney
Members Ride
VX II Calais
its really that easy!!

Thanks man. last dvd player i had, the guy who installed it had to hook up a switch i had to switch on and off everytime i wanted to use the dvd while driving. So i dont need a switch?

Frank
 

redcv6

supercharged intercooled
Joined
Aug 21, 2006
Messages
532
Reaction score
5
Points
0
Location
Ringwood
Members Ride
vy ss ute, diesel landcruiser 100s, hq panel van
no, no you don't just ground it like previously stated.
 

mrvx2

New Member
Joined
May 4, 2009
Messages
69
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Location
West Sydney
Members Ride
VX II Calais
Well wats the correct way then?
 

holdenboy

Custom Car Stereo Systems
Joined
Aug 31, 2008
Messages
2,330
Reaction score
15
Points
0
Age
39
Location
Nelson Bay NSW
Members Ride
VR Wagon
Some DVD units these days (Clarion is one) are a little smarter than just connecting the handbrake sensing wire to earth...you need to install a simple toggle switch inline with this wire. This is because the unit knows the "handbrake" is always on (due to earthing out the sensing wire) so you need to fool the unit into thinking youve disengaged then re-engaged the handbrake.

Unfortunately the law requires any DVD display unit that can be seen by the driver to be wired to the handbrake light (something i completely disagree with btw).
 

daron

wizfiz
Joined
Mar 28, 2006
Messages
1,420
Reaction score
28
Points
48
Location
adelaide
Members Ride
VE SSV
on a jvc unit you do just ground it to bypass the handbrake
 

mrvx2

New Member
Joined
May 4, 2009
Messages
69
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Location
West Sydney
Members Ride
VX II Calais
Yea my last one was a clarion. So i should be swwet with the JVC. Awsum

Cheers
 

mrvx2

New Member
Joined
May 4, 2009
Messages
69
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Location
West Sydney
Members Ride
VX II Calais
BTW anyone want a lazy $50 to install it for us on the weekend :) Anyone around western sydney.

Cheers Frank
 

dakman

New Member
Joined
Apr 28, 2009
Messages
119
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Location
newcastle
Members Ride
ve ute 22's lowered hardlid
u just get them to not wire that component in. its easy as. any dvd headunit will be able to do this
 
Top