Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

New Posts Contact us

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

Replacing VS auto transmission

Dommon

New Member
Joined
May 3, 2013
Messages
3
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Location
Australia
Members Ride
VS Commodore Executive
Hey Guys,

I am currently searching for a reconditioned auto transmission. I have found a few places to buy from but I need a questioned answered. It seems they come in 12 pin and 13 pin versions and was just wondering how I find out which of the 2 I need. Is there any information I can provide to identify which one I need?

Thanks!
 

nathanVY

such boost
Joined
Dec 27, 2009
Messages
1,785
Reaction score
15
Points
38
Location
Geelong, VIC
Members Ride
2003 VY LS1 Turbo Calais, 2005 4Gen Liberty Wagon
Hey mate, if you open your bonnet and have a look down behind the motor there should be a sticker of some kind with a letter and number code on it.

EG- 6HDD

The transmission you get needs to be an exact match of this number.
 

Dommon

New Member
Joined
May 3, 2013
Messages
3
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Location
Australia
Members Ride
VS Commodore Executive
Thanks for the reply! It is indeed a 6HDD. Is there any other variants within this model or will any 6HDD box suffice?
Sorry if this sounds silly, just started to get into DIY/Sourcing my own parts.
 

nathanVY

such boost
Joined
Dec 27, 2009
Messages
1,785
Reaction score
15
Points
38
Location
Geelong, VIC
Members Ride
2003 VY LS1 Turbo Calais, 2005 4Gen Liberty Wagon
Thanks for the reply! It is indeed a 6HDD. Is there any other variants within this model or will any 6HDD box suffice?
Sorry if this sounds silly, just started to get into DIY/Sourcing my own parts.
Nah you're right man, keep asking questions. If the one in your car is 6HDD then you'll definitely need another 6HDD to go in it.
 
Top