Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

Reset Oil Life Not Working

Discussion in 'VE Holden Commodore (2006 - 2013)' started by kiffies, Jan 26, 2019.

  1. kiffies

    kiffies New Member

    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2018
    Location:
    Perth
    Hi All

    I've got a 2009 International Sportwagon. It's the 3.6 Alloytec LY engine.

    I've recently done an oil change but can't seem to reset the Oil Life percentage (not service warning).

    I've gone into engineering mode (engine off) and pumped the accelerator pedal three times like you're supposed to but it seems to make no difference.

    I know it's not a big deal but I'd like to get it working if I can. I've also read that this feature may be disabled in Australia?

    Anyone got any ideas?
     
  2. rognvald261

    rognvald261 Active Member

    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    62
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2019
    Location:
    Perth
    Members Ride:
    VE SS A6
    I know it is functional through engineering on VE V8, only thing I can think of is that it doesn’t need to be in engineering to reset just turn on IGN pump accelerator to the floor three times within three seconds, then switch to off.
    Then you can check in engineering.
     
  3. ChRiDDa

    ChRiDDa Active Member

    Messages:
    645
    Likes Received:
    64
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2004
    Location:
    N/A
    Members Ride:
    VE SS-Z Sportwagon
    I’ve always reset both my (ss wagon) and the better halves calais in engineering mode by scrolling down to oil life and pumping the accelerator 3 times to the floor
     
  4. rognvald261

    rognvald261 Active Member

    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    62
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2019
    Location:
    Perth
    Members Ride:
    VE SS A6
    Maybe is only V8?
     
  5. VTS5

    VTS5 TechJunkie

    Messages:
    1,125
    Likes Received:
    99
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    Location:
    Sth.East\Melb
    Members Ride:
    VE OMEGA
    Same with my V6 VE.
    Ignition on,
    Three quick taps to acc. pedal,
    İgnition off,
    Done.
     
    rognvald261 likes this.
  6. krusing

    krusing Active Member

    Messages:
    304
    Likes Received:
    80
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2014
    Location:
    Bayside, Melbourne
    Members Ride:
    2002 VY L67 Calais Sedan, 2012 VE L77 Calais Wagon
    Definitely works on my VE Calais (V8)
    ;)
     
  7. greenacc

    greenacc Searching for the billion

    Messages:
    4,593
    Likes Received:
    521
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2008
    Location:
    Sydney
    Members Ride:
    VE Berlina
    Kiffles didn't mention he turns the key to off after pumping the pedal so he could be doing it wrong.
     
  8. kiffies

    kiffies New Member

    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2018
    Location:
    Perth
    Hi All

    I've tried with engineering mode on and engineering mode off, I've tried pumping the accelerator fast and slow and turning the ignition off straight after vs waiting for it to reset.

    Still saying 0%

    No idea why it's not working ¯\_(ツ)_/¯

    The software version is ver01.16.rel if that means anything to anyone.

    Any more suggestions?
     
  9. VTS5

    VTS5 TechJunkie

    Messages:
    1,125
    Likes Received:
    99
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    Location:
    Sth.East\Melb
    Members Ride:
    VE OMEGA
    When you pump! the acc.,, pedal should hit the floor, 3 times.
     
  10. kiffies

    kiffies New Member

    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2018
    Location:
    Perth
    Yup definitely pushing it to the floor. I've even tried doing it with the key at position 1 (accessories). Not sure what else to try at this point.
     
  11. lout

    lout Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,227
    Likes Received:
    229
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Joined:
    May 13, 2006
    Location:
    Langwarrin Victoria
    Members Ride:
    VX Executive S2
    i wonder if that is a symptom the throttle sensor needs calibrating?
     
  12. rognvald261

    rognvald261 Active Member

    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    62
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2019
    Location:
    Perth
    Members Ride:
    VE SS A6
    Accelerator pedal position sensor, yes it is a V6, maybe it has one of those stupid toys to trick you into thinking the car goes faster?
     
  13. kiffies

    kiffies New Member

    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2018
    Location:
    Perth
    So you mean that the car isn't registering that I'm pushing the pedal flat to the floor?
     

Share This Page