Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

Setting up door speakers for my vy

$ikVYbO!

Reaction score
Members Ride
VY Executive
Hey everyone, im kinda new to this so please have some sympathy on my post :)

I have an 03 vy commodore with;

dual 12' comp vr Kicker subs----}
1000 wat Mono alpine amp------} Already installed
Pioneer head unit-----------------}

[and im purchasing apline type s splits and rear speakers (for the doors) tomorrow]

I was wondering if anyone could help me on ways to go about installing the door splits and speakers, its easy for me to just get Len day Car audio to do it, however i dont have much money to throw around, only the $350 for the speakers and splits and i know they will charge more than or close to $150 for the install

If anyone has any links, or photos and step by step instructions on how to install the audio systems that would be very much appreciated

Fun_Bucket

Reaction score
Members Ride
Cruze II sri
Mate, if you can remove your door trims confidently without damaging any of the mounting clips, tabs ect, electrics ect, then it's pretty straight forward. You will see your speakers, how they are fitted, seated in the pod ect. The pod may have to be cut/modified to accept a slightly larger speaker, you may also have to attach an MDF ring of suitable size to your door trim if mounting diamater, or depth is an issue.

Patience is the key, but even someone with absolutely no experience can get it done. I've never been shown/ taught, nor have i paid anyone for any of my installs since day one.

Unless your a complete dummie, you shouldn't run into any problems.

$ikVYbO!

Reaction score
Members Ride
VY Executive