Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

New Posts Contact us

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

Stoping auto shifting to second

mahooody

New Member
Joined
Aug 9, 2005
Messages
96
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Location
melbourne, suburbs
Members Ride
VS III ute ecotec
Is it possible to stop the auto trani from shifting to second when it is in first
 

Harvs82

Active Member
Joined
Dec 29, 2005
Messages
1,102
Reaction score
15
Points
38
Age
38
Location
Glen Waverley VIC
Members Ride
MY08 Subaru Liberty GT-B & MY16 VF II SS Redline
I don't think so. The ECU automatically changes to second gear at 5750 rpms to prevent engine damage, as it is already in the red zone on the tacho.

Maybe using an aftermarket chip might be able to change the shift point, but why would you want to risk doing your engine damage?
 

Shounak

The Kicking Horse
Joined
Apr 20, 2005
Messages
2,500
Reaction score
60
Points
0
Age
34
Location
Vic
Members Ride
VX Executive S2 + XF Panel Van Project
It also prevents burnouts.. I think one way is quickly stomping on the accelerator, that usually works to bag it up..
 

mahooody

New Member
Joined
Aug 9, 2005
Messages
96
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Location
melbourne, suburbs
Members Ride
VS III ute ecotec
yeah want to stop it changin to second when burnouts. i think i will ask when i get my new memcal calibrated
 

sircruisealotVS

Well-Known Member
Joined
Dec 1, 2005
Messages
2,934
Reaction score
50
Points
48
Age
36
Location
South Brisbane
Members Ride
VZ LS1 Calais
simple, get a stage 2 shift kit, it will then manually hold any gear to any rpm. if your doing this for burnouts an added/larger trans-cooler is a must as the 'box will heat up heaps.
 

Shounak

The Kicking Horse
Joined
Apr 20, 2005
Messages
2,500
Reaction score
60
Points
0
Age
34
Location
Vic
Members Ride
VX Executive S2 + XF Panel Van Project
Has anyone done this to their 4L60E?
 

sircruisealotVS

Well-Known Member
Joined
Dec 1, 2005
Messages
2,934
Reaction score
50
Points
48
Age
36
Location
South Brisbane
Members Ride
VZ LS1 Calais
Shounak said:
Has anyone done this to their 4L60E?
what, a shift kit? if thats what your askin im probably planning on doing a transgo HD2 shift kit and another trans cooler in the next week or two, after i find out whether a bloke i know can get me a 4L65E. if he cant ill just shift kit my current trans.
 

Doctor Bob

Grandpa
Joined
May 23, 2004
Messages
2,792
Reaction score
58
Points
48
Location
Retired
Members Ride
RG. Colorado & Caravan
the shift points are set by roadspeed in the memcal not revs & yes hey can be set in the memcal to stop the forced upshift.

Rob
 
Top