Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

VF Calais Insurance

HiDDeN

Reaction score
Members Ride
2015 VF Calais
Hey all!

I've been driving my 2015 VF Calais for a few years now and im just starting to do some modifications to her. I contacted my insurance to see if my modifications would void my insurance and low and behold, they wont insure me with my mods.

I'm only planning to install lowering springs and eventually an OTR and a catback exhaust system.

Which insurance companies do you guys recommend that allow modifications?

Also I'm 22 years old.

Cheers

figjam

Donating Member
Reaction score
Members Ride
FJ
Every insurer is different .......... length of time you have held your licence, driving record, nominated drivers, where you live, where the car is kept.
You are going to have to contact them individually, personally, with no BS which could come back to bite you at the wrong time.

J_D 2.0

Reaction score
Members Ride
2009 VE SSV M6 on LPG and 2022 Kawasaki Z650L
No insurance company likes it when you modify your car (especially if you’re under 25) and will ream you on insurance regardless.

Not too sure on who will cover younger drivers but I’d honestly leave it stock at least until you are 25. Not what you want to hear but you will pay quite a lot more in premiums on a modified vehicle just because of the category of driver that it puts you in.

I pay over $1500 a year in premiums on my SSV because it’s modified (cold air intake, extractors, exhaust and tune) even though I’m over 40 and have a squeaky clean driving record. Insurance would be about half that if the car was unmodified.

Last edited:

blackvxss

Reaction score
Members Ride
VF SS, VE SS ute, VZ SS crewman, VYSS, VX SS, VTSS
try shannons

chrisp

Reaction score
Members Ride
VF2 MY16 SS Redline Sportwagon