Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

New Posts Contact us

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

Vl turbo conversion

kdiz22

New Member
Joined
Oct 5, 2008
Messages
7
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Members Ride
VY Storm Ute
do i have to change my computer and my air flow meter when i put a stock turbo on my vl rb30... any help would be appriciated

cheers:)
 

Panama

Member
Joined
Aug 26, 2007
Messages
367
Reaction score
3
Points
18
Location
Perth
Members Ride
'87 VL Calais with L67
yeahn computer and injectors. not afm though
 

VLDavo

New Member
Joined
Mar 23, 2006
Messages
729
Reaction score
2
Points
0
Location
Canberra
Members Ride
lc torana. vn v8. ke30.mazda 1300.
you can run a n/a comp and injectors just dont go over 7psi or the injectors will max out soon after that
 

VL Formula Turbo

New Member
Joined
Jan 7, 2009
Messages
10
Reaction score
2
Points
0
Location
South Eastern Melbourne
Members Ride
VL Formula Turbo
The injectors r different to turbo ones AFM is the same computer is different wiring loom is different in the loom there is one more wire on the turbo models that is the knock sensor this reads pinging
 

kdiz22

New Member
Joined
Oct 5, 2008
Messages
7
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Members Ride
VY Storm Ute
thanks for that,
how much psi do u think i can run with fully oversize rebuilt engine bottom to top with crow comp cam, oversize valve springs, 8.5.1 piston tops, t70 turbo, intercooler and oversize injectors? would i be able to run 15 psi or more?
 

nasty1

New Member
Joined
Feb 16, 2008
Messages
1,739
Reaction score
2
Points
0
Location
adelaide
Members Ride
vy2 clubsport
should do mate but youl need to get at least a nistune ecu to run bigger injectors and that much boost.

im running the same gear as you with stock ecu and stock injectors and on 12 psi its fine no pinging or anything
 

Goon

Scientific Tuning
Joined
Feb 20, 2006
Messages
2,508
Reaction score
9
Points
38
Location
BrisVegas. QLD
Members Ride
VY CUSTOM.
so u can run a n/a computer under 7 psi? what about the n/a automatic transmission computer? Or the AT2 whatever its called the turbo auto computer? sorry to steal someone elses thunder here.... lol
 

starfire vc

now on 10 pound
Joined
May 2, 2007
Messages
262
Reaction score
5
Points
0
Age
32
Location
Brisbane,North
Members Ride
VL turbo, RB30ET VH wagon, 64 EH in the build.
this has been done to death on calais turbo.definatley do not use n/a computer and injectors as it just wont work. standard AFM will support around 200rwk
 

kdiz22

New Member
Joined
Oct 5, 2008
Messages
7
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Members Ride
VY Storm Ute
Where would be the best place to get aftermarket ecu, injectors and afm to support up to 300rwk

cheers thanks for all the help guys :)
 

VL_5SPEED

New Member
Joined
Aug 23, 2007
Messages
516
Reaction score
6
Points
0
Location
Newcasstle
Members Ride
1986 Holden VL calais project
From what ive heard, na injectors and na ecu are fine to run with turbo. Just dont add more boost.
 
Top