Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

New Posts Contact us

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

vn with ecotec v6

STL17

Whipit
Joined
Aug 1, 2009
Messages
554
Reaction score
0
Points
16
Location
townsville
Members Ride
Raptor charged vp v6 manual
Hey guy just got a quick question i just brought a vn with an auto ecotec v6 from a vx i was just wondering could i use the manual setup from my vr burnout wagon its got everything i need any help would be great cause my vn is nice and slow
 

soop

Banned
Joined
Nov 11, 2008
Messages
3,847
Reaction score
58
Points
0
Location
Smithton, Tasmania.
Members Ride
2003 SS Commodore Series II
So long as you get a bell housing to suit the Ecotec, there shouldnt be a problem.

(I'm no expert but no one answered.)
 

STL17

Whipit
Joined
Aug 1, 2009
Messages
554
Reaction score
0
Points
16
Location
townsville
Members Ride
Raptor charged vp v6 manual
I was told the t5 also came stock on a vs so it may fit


Chears for ya feedback
 

soop

Banned
Joined
Nov 11, 2008
Messages
3,847
Reaction score
58
Points
0
Location
Smithton, Tasmania.
Members Ride
2003 SS Commodore Series II
It might have a different bell housing to the VR though. Because the VR had a buick motor.

I don't really know, just check it out before you go pulling **** apart.
 

STL17

Whipit
Joined
Aug 1, 2009
Messages
554
Reaction score
0
Points
16
Location
townsville
Members Ride
Raptor charged vp v6 manual
Yeh if i cant ill just sell manual wagon to buy mods for the vn then shift kit the auto
 

immortality

Can't live without smoky bacon!
Staff member
Joined
Apr 15, 2006
Messages
16,882
Reaction score
5,707
Points
113
Location
Sth Auck, NZ
Members Ride
HSV VS Senator, VX s2 Calais S/C
both the buick and ecotec use the same pattern bell housing so yes a T5 from a buick V6 will bolt straight up.

you would need to have the buick 8 bolt flywheel mirror balanced to the ecotec flex plate.

mechanically it is fairly straight forward. the biggest headache will be the electrical side. when the VN was converted to ecotec which ecu/pcm was used, or more importantly which auto trans has been used? if it is running on a VN 808 ecu then it's a fairly straight swap because the ecu doesn't control the auto trans, if the original ecotec ecu has been used then some wiring changes will be needed + a new tune to suit.
 

STL17

Whipit
Joined
Aug 1, 2009
Messages
554
Reaction score
0
Points
16
Location
townsville
Members Ride
Raptor charged vp v6 manual
Its the ecotec auto so i may aswell sell wagon and shift kit the auto thanks for ya help
 
Top