Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

VR brakes are sticky!! :( overhaul is order??

phat_com

VR IS A BEAST WITH NEW V6
Reaction score
Members Ride
VR s2 Acclaim/VK IS GONE :(
hey i have just bought a VR and am just staring to find all the little bits and peices that needs fixing and repairing ect NOW...

I have noticed that the front brakes and "sticky" and when i apply brake force and release it seams to stay about 25% active and the piston wont fully retract into the calipar. Will just a good flush and clean fix this? or am i better off just replacing with some "overhauled swap jobs??"
i'm only a 1st year mechanic so funds are low at the moment.

(Ie. a good drenching of brake cleaner and wire brush clean and a bleed?)

Brett_jjj

Reaction score
Members Ride
vs commodore
Id either put an overhaul kit through the rear calipers or get exchange ones.(depending on the cost).It could even help just removing the calipers and pushing the caliper pistons back fully home again.Also totally replace the brake fluid front and rear.

phat_com

Reaction score
Members Ride
its the front brakes that are sticking though not the rears. Yea i have a full service and fluid flush planned :) Its good being a mechanic, just have to tell the boss i'm staying back and workin on my car and i have everything ready for me...plus its all mercedes benz stuff so its all "top notch" :)

Brett_jjj

Reaction score
Members Ride
vs commodore
its the front brakes that are sticking though not the rears. Yea i have a full service and fluid flush planned :) Its good being a mechanic, just have to tell the boss i'm staying back and workin on my car and i have everything ready for me...plus its all mercedes benz stuff so its all "top notch" :)

yeah I meant the front calipers,not the rears sorry...

Tree cutter

Tree cutter