Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

What amp to use with 2 alpine type r 15"'s?

S

Stubby

Ok i have little experience with car audio, apart from the very basics. At the moment im running a SONY head unit, 2 kenwood speakers in the front, and 2 6 by 9' kenwoods in the back, there is no amp in my car at the moment.

I am recieving two alpine type r 15 inch subs in a custom box very soon and need help on an amp and the right wiring/capacitors to go with it.

These are the subs details:
SWR-1542D Type-R 15" Dual Voice Coil Subwoofer (4Ohm + 4Ohm)

The Type-R subwoofers just keep getting better and better. Thanks to high grade materials and optimised design, they reproduce all the low frequencies with extraordinary power and clarity.

Power Handling (Peak): 2000W
Power Handling (RMS): 750W
Frequency Response: 22Hz - 500Hz
Nominal Impedance: 4Ohm+4Ohm
Sensitivity (SPL@1W/1m): 87dB
Installation Diameter: 349mm
Depth: 234mm
Kevlar Reinforced Pulp Cone
Custom Cast Aluminium Frame with Integrated Perimeter Venting and Heat Transfer Plate
Dual Voice Coil Design
HAMR Surround and Concealed Mount Gasket
Insert Push Terminals with One-sided Layout
Designed and Engineered in the USA

So which amp/wiring/capacitors would you guys recommend to me? Im looking at this on on ebay at the moment, PIONEER AMP ON EBAY would it do the job for both or would i need two amps? Im willing to buy 2 amps if need be.
Thanks for ya help!

Tasmaniak

Not a valid input....
Reaction score
Website
www.ranjinstallations.com.au
Members Ride
VR Stato, C180 Kompressor, Prado and Ka
Ideally I would use two amps to power those suckers. They require 750Wrms at 2ohms. Thats a lot of power. Not many amps are capable of that. Only in bridged mode.